Green Tomato Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have made this twice, and each time I've forgotten to make a key change that would make it more tailored to my personal tastes: next time I do it, I would like to try not cooking the tomatoes at all. I grew up with pickled tomatoes that were very crisp, almost crunchy, and cooking them for almost any length of time will soften them too much. The blend of spices is pretty good, though I have to decrease the amount of sugar because I don't really like sweet pickles (cucumber or any other vegetable). I'll be using this recipe again, but I'm finally putting my review here so that hopefully I'll remember next time to make it more to my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Just made them, or very close to them. I ran out of green tomatoes, so filled in with cucumbers, and only had two onions, so didn't get a full yield. I don't think I would have cared for any more onion, anyway. I soaked vegetables in two changes of cold water, rinsed gently with sprayer, then allowed to drain for about 30 minutes while I got the jars and so forth ready. I don't care for very much dry mustard, so reduced it to 1 tsp. I know they will have better flavor in a couple of weeks, but I went ahead and tasted them. I think these are some of the best (what I classify as bread n butter) sweet pickles I have made or eaten. (I have been gardening and canning for about 30 years, just to put perspective on it.) Thanks for sharing this recipe, QUICKIEP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
They taste very good,however the directions were not all they could be, it isn't mentioned what to do after soaking, does one drain all the salt water off before soaking in water for an hour, also there was an excess of liqiud after cooking for 30 minutes. I expected that there would be a thicker consistancy . Jayray from Puget Sound area, Wa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It doesn't say what to do with water after pouring over, or anything to with celery seed, or whether to drain salt and water after soaking all night. I had to guess, my husband says they taste fine. 2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were delicious. We didn't want to have to wait for all of our tomatoes to ripen, and this was fantastic to use them up!!! They taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
To each their own but to me there was a distinct flavor that I didn't like; it left a long aftertaste. I wish other makers of this recipe great success because others have given it good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This recipe was very tasty and easy to make. Thanks to Renee for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This goes over so well with my large family. Will be making again next year.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States