Green Tomato Mincemeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I had never heard of mincemeat let alone green tomato mincemeat. A friend was talking about how he saved a jar of his Mom's green tomato mincemeat for a long time. Hating to eat the last one. Having lots of green tomatoes this year I thought I'd go looking for a recipe. I didn't know what to expect but am pleasantly surprised. Hopefully this is like his Mom's was. Now to find a quicker way to peel green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I have made two batches of this recipe, the first with the beef suet had a grainy, rather waxy residual taste. For the second batch, I substituted a little Canola oil for the suet. This one is absolutely one of my favorite recipes. It made a wonderful pie but we also keep a jar in the frig and eat it on crackers or toast like jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cassiet
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
What a great recipe to use up both green tomatoes and apples, which are both ready in the garden at the same time! I halved the recipe, like a previous poster said, I think the entire recipe would need a super-sized stock pot. I used butter instead of suet (just too lazy to find suet) and added 1/2 a pound of currants for fun. Also, I simmered it for about 4 hours instead of 3 to get the liquid off - I suppose the simmer time depends a bit on how juicy the apples and tomatoes are. I plan on freezing it for a couple of months until xmas, since I have never canned anything before and I'm not set up for that. I wasn't sure if I should chop up and include the lemon peel or not, so I zested it. One mistake I made was to just chop up the orange without splitting it in to sections first to get rid of that clear "skin". As the orange cooks up it disintegrates and leaves the skin behind, which isn't so appetizing, so I just picked it out. The flavour of the mincemeat is great. I was never a huge fan of it before, but this stuff is tasty, and it's nice to get some xmas baking done early and get the tomatoes put away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I am British but do not live in Britain anymore so buying this is not an option. I have always wanted to make mincemeat but have never seen a recipe I liked, I read all the reviews first and decided to try it. This will be kept and made often in my house from now on, thanks for sharing this one :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ferrer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this recipe today. I have not put it into any baked goods yet, but when I do, I think I will be inclined to mix it with store-bought mincemeat. The smell is lovely, but it did not cook up like I expected. The texture is more like "real" mincemeat, which is how my family refers to mincemeat with meat in it. I found the recipe difficult to figure out, as per my earlier posting. Weight for the tomatoes and apples would have been much more helpful. I had no idea how many to use. In the end, I went with what my soup pot could hold. I used 3 kilos of tomatoes and 3 kilos of apples. I cut everything else in half except the raisins. I used all the raisins. When I saw how full it was at that point, I cannot imagine what size pot one would need for twice as many apples and tomatoes. I also added about 1/2 lb currants and 1 lb each of red cherries and green cherries. We'll see how it bakes up in tarts or muffins. If I have any further tips after I do that, I will post again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have not made this yet but would like to know if the apples or lemons should be peeled. I've never made mincemeat and want to try to surprise my English hubs next fall. I am trying to sort some new canning recipes out now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very tasty and a good way to use green tomatoes. Here are my variations: 1) Scaled to 9 servings seems to make a good 10" pie 2) Omitted beef suet; don't particularly care for the flavor it adds. 3) Used candied orange peel instead of citrus peel 4) Added ~1 to 2 Tbsp quick cooking tapioca to thicken pie 5) Tastes better if made the day prior to consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Wow! I made this yesterday omitting the suet and candied fruit, since neither was readily available. Instead, I added a bit of fresh ginger and some orange peel granules I found at our coop. Then today, I tried it out on a pie. I was concerned it was a bit runny, so I added 2 T of tapioca, a diced apple and a handful of raisins. I have made pies all of my life, and I truly think this is my favorite. Thanks for posting the recipe. I only made a quarter recipe since I wasn't sure how it would come out, but I'll definitely be making a bigger batch next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is great stuff. I adjusted the recipe to the amount of my tomatoes for a total yield of 13 pints. Chose to use butter rather than suet. I made this 6 weeks ago and have made two pies with it in the last week (testing for the holidays). For a more traditional flavor, added a shot of brandy to the second pie. Again, this is great stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cZak142

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My tomato plants got caught by the frost, and I was left with "tons". I used the calculator to cut it in half and got 14 pint jars. I used the suet, and added a lb. of currants.I was very, very pleased with the flavour and plan on giving some away for Xmas gifts. I have a meat grinder, and put everything through the meat chopper using a 3/8" blade. It was perfect. I boiled it the 3 hrs. and then processed in a boiling water bath. Don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States