Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I would leave the salt out of the batter. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I followed the directions and it turned out really great. No frosting, good with morning coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eris8656
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good! I changed the sugar to 1.5 cups and didn't add any nuts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good. Never would have guessed. I took some advise from others. I chopped my tomatoes skin and seeds in the food processor, then allowed to drain in a sieve. I cut sugar to 1-3/4 cups. I used 1-1/2 cups regular flour and 1/2 cup coconut flour. I didn't have raisins so I used about 1/4 cup currents and a little more than a 1/4 cup craisins. Topped with powdered sugar. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
can't keep this long in my house! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audeen Rubio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I think this is an awesome way to use green tomatoes! I made mine with gluten free flour, cocnut oil and coconut sugar. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was still really good. The only thing I would do differently would be to dice the tomatoes really small. The chunks in mine may put some people off. Delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made quit a few changes using this recipe. I took out the seeds and pureed the tomatoes which turned it into 2 cups(I drained them also after puree) I used 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce instead of butter, 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of the tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg. 1 cup each of white and wheat flour and used only 1 3/4 cups sugar ( I may even go to 1 1/2 cups next time because it was still very sweet). I left out the raisins and nuts because my guys do not like them although I am sure they would have been terrific. And I made them into cup cakes which only took 15-20 min to cook. They do not even need frosting, they are so yummy and terrific with a cup of tea, coffee, or even milk. I will definitely use and suggest this recipe to my friends, It is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very moist and tasty. I measured and salted the tomatoes per the recipes. I then rinsed and blotted dry. I pulsed the tomatoes in the food processor until very fine. I also used fresh ground nutmeg and I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. No frosting and took the cake to work. Everyone liked it and they were all surprised that is was a green tomato cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Tried it! Loved it! Really moist and delicious! Saved wasting the good ones from our blighted crop x Thank you x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine E Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent. Super moist. Made as directed (but only enough tomatoes for half a recipe in a 8X8 pan). Super moist. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States