Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Super moist & delicious! Some people guessed that I had put apple in it too (it does resemble an apple cake) but I didn't. I followed the recipe to the letter & was not disappointed. Next time I might put a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was very good. I enjoyed seeing peoples reactions once they found out the name of the cake. Next time I will add 1 cup of raisins instead of 1/2 cup. I put the tomatoes in the blender & drained well (2 cups puree). This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was fantastic. Took the advice of others and pureed the tomatoes. Noone in our house likes raisins so I substituted coconut and had pecans not walnuts. I didn't measure my spices so I'm sure I added more than listed, but we like our 'spice cake' to be super spiced so that's a matter of personal taste. Good recipe. Plan to try adding cocoa powder next time I have an abundance of green toms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I would suggest pulping the tomatoes instead of chopping them and then let the pulp drain for 30 mins. I used 2 cups of puree instead of 4 cups of chopped tomatoes. The cake came out moist and my family never noticed the tomatoes in the cake until I told them! They all loved it! Definitely doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is seriously yummy with cream cheese frosting. I had a bush full of green tomatoes and it got flooded out this weekend and started to die. I didn't want to waste all those green tomatoes. But next year I would pick them green on purpose to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I really tried this as an experiment since I have so many green tomatoes and was very pleasantly surprised. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, left out the nuts, used golden raisins, and added some diced candied ginger. The cake was really great, no icing needed. Next time I will definitely cut the tomatoes much more finely, but even so it's a great-tasting, easy, and healthy cake that I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I bought a bunch of green tomatoes at our local produce stand and couldn't wait to try something new with them (I'd only ever had them fried before). Tried this green tomato cake and oh my WOW was it good!!! The only changes I made- added a bit of vanilla, omitted the raisins and subbed pecans for the walnuts. I also baked it in a tube pan and didn't even frost it as I had planned to because it was so perfectly moist and delicious as is! My 5 year old twin daughters aren't green tomato fans, so I told them it was green apple cake and they happily gobbled it up! My husband and I couldn't believe how much it tasted like apples either. We have found a new transition-into-fall recipe that's sure to be a staple around here- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Surprisingly very delicious! Similar to carrot cake, but even better. This is actually one of the best cakes I've had, especially with a cream cheese frosting (I blended 2 of the most popular recipes on this site): (For a 9x13 cake) 8 oz cream cheese 1/4 - 1/2 cup butter, softened (I used 3/8 cup) 2-4 cups confectioners' sugar (I did closer to 2.5 cups, so it wasn't too sweet... I like more cream cheese than sugar, but you can make it more sweet) 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was very skeptical that this would be good, but it is delicious. What a great way to use up all those end of summer tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is really good. I added white chocolate chips and about three times the cinnamon. Even my very skeptical hubby thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States