Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Really good! Wasn't expecting much but I had a bunch of green tomatoes from my garden and just figured I'd make a bunch of little cakes and take them into work and give them out. Unfortunately, they are so good I am going to have to make more if I want to take them to work because my family has eaten almost all of the ones I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireftrlia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I love this recipe. The only change I made was to use my blender to puree the tomatoes. I will be making this again when we have green tomatoes in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This cake was wonderful and moist. When I told my husband it had green tomatoes in it, he wasn't going to even try it. After he tried it, I saw him sneaking and getting another piece. I'm making it again this weekend for my out of town guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Just made 3 of these (I had a lot of green tomatoes!). This is delicious! I did throw the tomatoes in the food processer, after dicing, seeds, skins and all. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. However, I found that the cakes that I put in nonstick pans cooked much faster and one was a little dry. The next one in such a pan I took out sooner than the recommended 40 minutes and it was fine. So if you are using a nonstick pan check after about 30 minutes. It doesn't need a frosting at all but I put a cream cheese frosting on anyway. Either way it's very good! Thank you for a fabulous way to use up my green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This cake is incredible!! I did what f64club did, pureeing the tomatoes seeds, skins and all. I let sit in a colander to drain the excess liquid (and used the liquid for watering a plant). I used a little over two cups of puree. I also made enough puree (refrigerated) to make one more cake, PLUS froze two more portions for future use. I am predicting my brother will love this. I didn't have the raisins but did add walnuts. Reminds me of a zuchinni cake. Incredibly moist! My Mom wants to try a cream cheese frosting, but honestly, this cake can easily stand alone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I left a few bigger chunks in the tomatos and when I bit into them they almost tasted like apples. Sweet bread. Delicious with a caramel frosting! So Keeping this one... WAY to many green tomatos this year....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Good way to use up green tomatoes. Kids loved it till they found out what was in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
if you are wondering what green tomatoes in a cake taste like, I found them to taste like cooked yellow raisins. I was very apprehensive to try this recipe but it actually turned out good. I topped mine with a cream cheese frosting and I really think that is what made this cake. Will prob not be my "go to" coffee cake but I can def see myself making this again next time I have a bunch of green tomatoes I need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love this recipe!! So easy and tasty. Great way to use up green tomatoes other than frying them :) I followed the recipe exactly as shown except I used 2 cups of tomatoes very finely chopped (almost blended), as suggested by another reviewer... Also, I was fooled when the toothpick came clean quiet early on (around 30 mins). Turns out it could have used a few more minutes, not the full 45 though. Thanks Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Everyone loved this and wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States