Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
excellent use of green tomatoes! Lovely, moist cake...definitely make cream cheese icing with this....!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A VERY moist and delicious cake! No taste of green tomatoes at all! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I modified this cake almost beyond recognition, so it may not be accurate for me to review it. However, it was still a good use for green tomatoes, so this is what I did: Pureed about eight cups of green tomatoes that I mashed in a fine-meshed strainer to yield four cups (no salt added). I combined this with a cup of okara and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Separately I combined the flour (all whole wheat) with 3/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp stevia, the salt, spices, baking pwd, and walnuts. I added the wet to the dry and added about 1/4 cup soymilk. Baked at 350 for about 75 minutes. I topped it with a simple powdered sugar glaze flavored with maple extract. It was quite tasty, but very dense and moist. If I end up with a bunch of green tomatoes again next year, I might resurrect this recipe and attempt a new modification to get it more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great cake and so very moist. I diced my tomatoes in an onion dicer. Turned out super great. I used 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce instead of butter. Will ice them with cream cheese icing when they cool. Tastes like carrot cake! I also put mine in muffin tins and baked for 15-20 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Only 3 Weight Watchers points plus based on these modifications: replaced all of the butter with unsweetened applesauce, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, and replaced walnuts with chocolate chips (only because I love chocolate). Baked in a parchment-lined pan for 38 minutes and it came out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was surprisingly good. After making the cake, I made the recipe again,but put it in bread pans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great moist cake. I usually put the batter into 2 8x8 pans, because I can freeze one cake for later. It is so rich it goes a long way. I've frosted with the crem cheese frosting, and I've also just packed coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is my first Green Tomato Cake. I was using up some tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe with one exception of cutting nutmeg down to a dash instead of a tsp because I find nutmeg to be overpowering at times. I used a food processor to 'chop' the tomatoes. The baked cake looks really bad and unappetizing. But the flavor is great! The texture is of between banana bread and apple pie. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting. This is a great way to use up leftover green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had a few tomato plants that got hit by an early frost. So I had all these green tomatoes on the plants. My dd said that we should make something with them. So of course we checked allrecipes for a suitable recipe. I was skeptical at making a green tomato cake but based on the reviews we tried this recipe. I diced the tomatoes and got 4 cups. I then pureed the tomatoes and that measured 2 cups. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted 1/4 tsp. cloves. I omitted raisins as I don't like them in baked goods. I added pecans as that is what I had on hand. After I added the pureed tomatoes I thought it had a peculiar green tinge so I added another 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. I frosted the cake with a caramel frosting. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I HATE tomatoes and was unsure about trying this recipe. However, it was one of the best cakes I've had in a long time. It tasted like a carrot cake and everyone that tried it loved it. I made it with cream cheese frosting but plan to try caramel next time. Don't be afraid to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States