Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This cake was a great way to use up the last green tomatoes of the season. I took it into work and no one could guess the "secret" ingredient. Loved it. I am not a cake eater, but enjoyed this one. Very much like a carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I was expecting something a bit more exotic, but it tasted like a great spice cake! I made a basic cocoa icing and put a very thin layer in between to 8" rounds. It was pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This cake is SOO good. I loved serving this to all my baking friends, and watching them try to guess my secret ingredient. I did do some changes, I didn't salt or drain the tomatoes after shredding in my food processor. I added a tsp of ginger to the mix and used pecans instead of walnuts and NO raisins. Since the batter was a lot wetter I had to increase the baking time I did the orig. 45 min. then kept checking until it was done maybe another 30 min. This cake is now part of my arsenal against my foodie friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake is so good!! My husband who does not like green tomatoes loved it.You cannot even tell there are green tomatoes in it. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was awesome. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is one of the best spice cakes I've ever had. The tomatoes almost taste like apples! Very good. It doesn't need frosting but I used an orange glaze over the top the second time I made it. You have to try this! BTW: I did not use the walnuts. . . I didn't have them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have joined Allrecipes just so I can rate this cake - it is the BEST use of green tomatoes that I know! I pureed the tomatoes and did not use the salt/drain (we are a low-salt family. I also used 1/2 c. egg substitute, and 1 cup sugar/1 cup Splenda. It tastes so good that it disappears in no time. Don't even need frosting. I would give it 6 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!! I used pumpkin pie spice and it worked well. Very moist ~ nobody guessed it was made with green tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meegs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Awesome! I had lots of green tomatoes to use up and this was delicious. I threw 5 cups of tomatoes in the blender with a little water and then strained them - ended up being about 2 cups. I topped with Cream Cheese Frosting - what a delicious recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made a vegan version of this cake for my sister's birthday (she's a vegan). I substituted vegan butter for the dairy butter and used egg replacer for the eggs. I added a cup of maple syrup because I only had three cups of sugar. I topped the cake with shredded coconut instead of frosting. It turned very good. I left the tomatoes in fairly large chunks and liked it that way; their sourness reminded me of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was delicious and reminds me of carrot cake or zucchini cake. I pureed my green tomatoes...as is...didn't peel or seed them and I don't see the need to do either. Followed directions otherwise (salting and letting them drain) and only used about 2 cups of puree. Frosted it with cream cheese frosting and everyone wanted second and third helpings! This will be a repeat for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States