Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
YUMMY! is the best way to discribe this cake, all my tasters kept trying to taste the tomatoe, but it just is not distinctive. I did follow the directions completely. very yummy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
tastes best with cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I found the recipe way too sweet. I cut the sugar from 2 Cups to 1.5 cups and it was still too sweet. I will try it again next year with only half the sugar because it is a great way to use up a lot of green tomatoes and I do like the spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Halved the recipe for an 8x8 pan and it was very good but too sweet and not spicey enough for my taste. Made it again today (8x8 pan again) with the following changes and it's delicious: Half of original recipe for the tomatoes, flour, baking soda, salt and eggs. 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup nuts and substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter and omitted the raisins. Baked for 42 minutes. Also did not salt or rinse chopped tomatoes, simply chopped in mini chopper till finely chopped, measured 2 cups (approxiately 4 medium tomatoes) and drained (pressing down occasionally) in colander while preparing rest of ingredients. Hope to find more green tomatoes at the farmers market tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
It is ridiculous how good this is. It's making me ask random people if they grow tomatoes so I can give them the recipe. I blended the tomatoes in the food processor before salting & draining, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Next year I'll be picking green tomatoes during the summer just to make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a surprising treat for the end of the harvest. I gave it 5 stars because it had great taste and for its unique ingredients. The whole house smelled awesome while this was baking, although I did have to bake it significantly longer than the directions indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Holy cow! Who knew green tomatoes would make such a great cake. I took the advise of others and just pureed the tomatoes skins and all. Then I drained the 4 cups of puree, no salt, to leave just 2 cups of pulp. I also added cream cheese frosting and it was one of the best cakes I have ever made. Everyone is upset that it will pretty much be a once-a-year thing when the tomato plants are pulled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you for making it possible to use up an abundance of green tomatoes.The cake is first rate.Followed the instructions to the letter. The only deviation I made was to put the batter into two 9x5 loaf pans. One to eat, the other to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a fantastic cake! I made it exactly as the recipe stated but added a dash of cloves and cardamom. So moist and great slathered with cream cheese icing. Next time I will replace some of the tomato with carrot and pineapple as it is very much my ideal carrot cake spice blend. P.S. As other posters stated I processed the tomatoes unpeeled in the food processor then salted and drained. They did show up as green specks in the baked cake. Update: Did add 1/2 cup of carrot and 1/2 cup of pineapple to replace one cup of tomato. Perfection! I used frozen tomatoes that I had salted rinsed and drained before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
WOW. This was absolutely delicious! I could have sat down and eaten that whole cake. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and it really was amazing! I wasn't sure what to expect, and was skeptical. It comes out looking and smelling like a zuccini bread, but it is so moist and tastes like a cake. I put it in two round pans, hoping to make a layer cake, but it didn't come out of the pan easily, so I had two round cakes instead of one pretty layer cake. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States