Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I'm hooked!! I didn't use any sugar - instead I used 2 bananas and 2 Tbsp of honey. I'm not sure I'd use the honey again, don't think it needs it. Wow!! What a total surprise on how great this cake is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i took this cake to work and it was gone in an hour. used cream cheese frosting. had a coworker offer me money to make it again if i had more tomatoes in the garden!! it is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great as written (did not add walnuts). My husband kept saying "wow" as he ate it. I left the tomato pieces semi-large (~1/2 inch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I love this cake. I made it several times and didn't change a thing. I used green grape tomatoes and chopped them in my little mini chopper. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Vandergrift-Pleasant View, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
this was great, not to sweet. I didn't add icing but tried dab of powdered sugar, it was ok but will leave it uniced!!!!! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a great snack cake! A terrific way to use up green tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a very good, moist cake. I pureed the tomatoes without the seeds and drained them well without salt, using two cups pureed tomatoes. I added a tsp. of molasses when adding the eggs to give the sugar the flavor of brown sugar. I also changed the spices to 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. allspice and ¼ tsp. cloves. Adding the molasses and extra spices covered up any possible taste of the tomatoes coming through. They also helped to give it a nice brown color throughout with no hint of green anywhere. Since I didn’t use salt when draining the tomato puree, I think I will increase the salt to ½ tsp. next time to counteract some of the sweetness. It doesn’t need any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I liked it, but my family didn't, so I'm not likely to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Truly wonderful. I only got to taste a bit before it was gobbled up by others, but the tomatoes maintain a very nice tartness which is perfect against the cake. I intended to use cream cheese frosting, but was told that it was too good on its own--so we went without completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tessa
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great start on a cake! I pureed my tomatoes in the blender because I don't have a food processor. My only complaing is that I halved the salt on the tomatoes, and it was still quite salty. I washed the pieces well, and not all the salt came off. I would use 1/4 of the salt at most next time (and also leave it out of the batter). Other than that, it was great! Frosted it with a cream cheese frosting, and it tasted like a moist spice cake. Some of my husband's friends were over unexpectedly last night, and they devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States