Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I make a lot of cakes for people and I take a lot of requests. This may become everyone's favorite! It is moist and so delicious! I think next time I will cut back a little on the sugar, but overall it is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I didn't even frost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I'm hooked!! I didn't use any sugar - instead I used 2 bananas and 2 Tbsp of honey. I'm not sure I'd use the honey again, don't think it needs it. Wow!! What a total surprise on how great this cake is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i took this cake to work and it was gone in an hour. used cream cheese frosting. had a coworker offer me money to make it again if i had more tomatoes in the garden!! it is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great as written (did not add walnuts). My husband kept saying "wow" as he ate it. I left the tomato pieces semi-large (~1/2 inch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I love this cake. I made it several times and didn't change a thing. I used green grape tomatoes and chopped them in my little mini chopper. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Vandergrift-Pleasant View, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
this was great, not to sweet. I didn't add icing but tried dab of powdered sugar, it was ok but will leave it uniced!!!!! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a great snack cake! A terrific way to use up green tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a very good, moist cake. I pureed the tomatoes without the seeds and drained them well without salt, using two cups pureed tomatoes. I added a tsp. of molasses when adding the eggs to give the sugar the flavor of brown sugar. I also changed the spices to 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. allspice and ¼ tsp. cloves. Adding the molasses and extra spices covered up any possible taste of the tomatoes coming through. They also helped to give it a nice brown color throughout with no hint of green anywhere. Since I didn’t use salt when draining the tomato puree, I think I will increase the salt to ½ tsp. next time to counteract some of the sweetness. It doesn’t need any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I liked it, but my family didn't, so I'm not likely to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Truly wonderful. I only got to taste a bit before it was gobbled up by others, but the tomatoes maintain a very nice tartness which is perfect against the cake. I intended to use cream cheese frosting, but was told that it was too good on its own--so we went without completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States