Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was pretty good. Salted almost five cups of tomatoes, rinsed them well, and blotted off excess water. Then chopped 'em up in the food processor. Used golden raisins. I frosted it with whipped cream cheese sweetened with powdered sugar and milk. I thought it was better the second day. Everyone enjoyed it, and I enjoyed using up some of those green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Just don't try to make them as muffins! They don't have enough structure to come out of the muffin tin in one piece! Still yummy though! Used food processor for chopping the tomatoes; Modified to 1 C wholewheat flour and 1 C all purpose. Also substituted 1 C sugar for brown. Next time will use apple sauce in lieu of 1/4 C of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I get rave reviews every time I make this. A MUST make with those left over green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I really was hoping to like this recipe and I did!!!It was great. I brought it to a family function and no one could believe it was made from tomatoes. I pureed the tomatoes and accidentally forgot to rinse off the salt before adding it to the batter. Yikes! I added cream cheese frosting to cover up the salty taste and it worked. No one noticed. I will keep portioned frozen green tomato puree in my freezer just for this recipe. Tastes just like a carrot cake. This is also a great recipe to try for extra green tomatoes http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/mexina-salsa-verde/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
So yummy. I make muffins/cupcakes with this recipe. I've made several batches in the past two weeks and have pureed some tomatoes to stock my freezer. Everyone I've given them to is amazed that there's tomato in them. I don't use the raisins or nuts - don't need them. This recipe is great with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
What an excellent way to use up green tomatoes. I also pureed and drained the tomatoes rather than chopping. Really easy and cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I really wasn't sure how this cake was going to taste! It smelled "funny" and looked awful before it was baked but the results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great recipe when those tomatoes don't turn red! I pureed the green tomatoes and used 2 cups. I substituted 1/2 c. canola oil for the butter and used 1 1/2 c. white sugar. Topped with cream cheese frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I make a lot of cakes for people and I take a lot of requests. This may become everyone's favorite! It is moist and so delicious! I think next time I will cut back a little on the sugar, but overall it is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I didn't even frost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States