Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up my green tomatoes besides fried green tomatoes. After reading all the great reviews, I decided to give it a try. Although I chopped my tomatoes pretty small, I still felt I wanted them to blend into the cake more so after salting and rinsing, I put them in the food processor for just a few seconds until they became a fine mash, then let them drain again. I'm glad I did that because I liked the way they distributed in the batter. I also reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 cups since I don't like cakes to be too sweet. Other than that, I made the recipe as written. After it came out of the oven I dusted it with powdered sugar. This was so delicious and quite moist. And no one will guess the secret ingredient since it blended right in. A definite make again next time I have green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a great spice cake type recipe that uses the leftover green tomatoes! I pureed the tomatoes (skin seeds and all) and used two cups of puree. I let it sit in the strainer while I prepared the rest of the ingredients but I didn't salt or rinse them. It came out great!! I used end of the season tiny tom tomatoes (basically cherry tomatoes). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cake turned out to be delicious! I topped mine off with powdered sugar which tasted great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe & can't believe I never rated it before. I usually don't tell people about the tomatoes until after they've tried it & raved! This is one of my most-requested desserts! I too cut the sugar to about 1.5 cups, and don't usually put in the raisins (only because I have too many friends who don't like them). Also - I have tried it with the cream cheese frosting & without.. I prefer without, it's just too good all on it's own! YUMMY - one is baking now & the house smells so good! I can't wait for later! **as a side note - I have since tried this in a bundt, and had good success. I baked longer & at 330, and had no problem with a soft center as previous reviews stated. Also drizzled the rum cream-cheese glaze from another recipe - YUM!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Tastes kind of like zucchini bread--delicious! Very moist, very sweet. I'll definitely make this again. Didn't add any raisins or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was really skeptical of this recipe, but it is really good! I had a ton of green tomatoes (big and small) that I didn't want to waste. I didn't have raisins, so I omitted those. I used the Philadelphia cream cheese icing recipe on top, and it tasted just like a spice cake. I'll be making this every year at the end of summer gardening season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this cake with our own green tomatoes still in the garden and it is fantastic. I added 1 tsp. of ground cloves, increased the cinnamon to around 1 1/2 tsps. and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I will make this cake again and again. Frosted it with a coffee cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Oh my! This was excellent! You would never know there were green tomatoes in this cake. I had so many in my garden at the end of the season and was delighted to find this recipe. So moist and good. Forget the icing. I think it would take away from the wonderful taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Easy to make and quite good. Reminds me of zucchini cake/bread.... only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePittyRanch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States