Green Tomato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
awesome...no change at all, perfect...even the kids loved it. took a little longer to cook in my oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe, it is now my mom's favorite cake, to bad you can only have it during green tomato season. Well unless you think ahead and freeze some of those last of the season tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I accidentally doubled the butter, and it still came out well, especially with the cream cheese frosting that I made. Will definitely make this one again, as we always have green tomatoes from our garden at the end of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I needed to use up a bunch of green tomatoes so I decided to try this despite not really thinking that it could taste good. I'm so glad that I tried because it's fantastic. I'm going to make another batch tomorrow to use of the rest of the green harvest I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is absolutely THE best cake I have made all year. The only changes I made were to make it with one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown, and I used apple sauce instead of butter. Dice the tomatoes really small, and nobody would ever guess they were in it. Absolutely fantastic. Thanks so much, Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved this cake. I did cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup so it wouldn't be too sweet. I also pureed the tomatoes so it took an extra 15 min. to cook because it was so moist. So glad I tried it since I have 15+ pounds of green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Yummy! It was very moist and delicious. I did use 1/4 cup butter with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made these using pureed green "cherry" tomatoes. Tangy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This may be the yummiest yum that's ever yummed. I bake this cake in bread pans and pass it out like candy at work. I may change my religion based on this recipe, not sure how that's going to work yet but I'll let you know once I figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThatGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was wonderful! I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used my blender to chop the tomatoes (almost puree), used 2 cups instead of 4 cups, salted, drained and then rinsed and drained again (about 15 min.) I used all applesauce (no butter) and cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. I used just a dash of nutmeg, and 1 tsp. vanilla. I added pecans & raisins (because I love them!) It took only 30 min. @350. It does not need any frosting.....moist & very tasty. My husband loved it! Thanks Glenda for a fabulous, easy to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States