Green Tea Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love matcha, and matcha muffin is one tender treat to go for. I don't know if it was the matcha powder that made the muffins quite dense, but I like the taste anyway. Sometimes I replaced some butter with applesauce, sometimes I made vanilla-matcha marble cupcake, just so many ways to enjoy matcha :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were really yummy! I didn't use walnuts in mine as I don't like nuts in any of my baked goods, and used light vanilla Silk instead of milk. I had to bake mine for about 30mins total as well. They came out a dense, moist muffin with a delicate flavor. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by hannahlou
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahlou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
LOVED these! I love anything green tea, and am a huge muffin fan, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. They are pretty dense, which is how I like 'em. I only made a few minor changes: I always use whole wheat flour and Smart Balance - I doubled the green tea to 2 T. (I also used the tea from tea bags this first time even though I have matcha - might use that next time to compare), doubled the walnuts, chopped VERY finely (I usually leave nuts completely out of recipes, but they're perfect here), and added 2 tsp. of vanilla. I think the baking time/temperature is bit off - I would recommend either 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or 325 degrees for 25 minutes. And because of the green tea, walnuts, and whole wheat flour, it's a bit hard to tell when they're done by color/browning alone. The muffins are a a little small - for this amount of batter, I would normally make 8 or 9 generous muffins. Still overall a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Photo by N
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My co-workers loved these! They are a very moist and dense muffin, but it works well! I did use oil instead of butter and added about a tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
so good.. i altered the recipe a little a they turned out most and lighter. I cut down the flour to 1 1/3 used canola oil instead of butter and 1 cup of vanilla soy milk used mini liners( all i had) at 350 for 18 min made a lemon honey drizzle to top them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
these are really good i love green tea but wish they were a little more healthy will have to experiment but they are yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Quite tasty! I used agave nectar to sweeten instead of sugar, I also replaced 2/3 cup of all purpose flour with whole grain flour. (wanted this to be a healthier option for my 3 year old to snack on) You can really taste the Matcha, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyjoytay
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I am a newbie in baking, but it was so delicious. I followed the steps exactly! :) thank you for the recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States