Green Tea Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These turned out a very pretty shade of green. They're to the dense/chewy side rather than a light/cakey muffin. Delicately flavored. I didn't add the walnuts, but I think they'd be a nice addition. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Just a warning: powdered matcha tea is very expensive. $30 for a small can. I tried just using regular green tea leaves (cutting open a tea bag) and the muffins were still good, but imparted no extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
LOVED these! I love anything green tea, and am a huge muffin fan, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. They are pretty dense, which is how I like 'em. I only made a few minor changes: I always use whole wheat flour and Smart Balance - I doubled the green tea to 2 T. (I also used the tea from tea bags this first time even though I have matcha - might use that next time to compare), doubled the walnuts, chopped VERY finely (I usually leave nuts completely out of recipes, but they're perfect here), and added 2 tsp. of vanilla. I think the baking time/temperature is bit off - I would recommend either 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or 325 degrees for 25 minutes. And because of the green tea, walnuts, and whole wheat flour, it's a bit hard to tell when they're done by color/browning alone. The muffins are a a little small - for this amount of batter, I would normally make 8 or 9 generous muffins. Still overall a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love matcha, and matcha muffin is one tender treat to go for. I don't know if it was the matcha powder that made the muffins quite dense, but I like the taste anyway. Sometimes I replaced some butter with applesauce, sometimes I made vanilla-matcha marble cupcake, just so many ways to enjoy matcha :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are very good muffins! I realized too late that what I had was matcha leaves and not powder, but I did as a previous reviewer and just ground them. It doesn't get the nice color, unfortunately, but they are very pretty still. The walnuts add a LOT to this and definitely should be added. I also reduced the flour a little, substituted some butter for oil, and some maple syrup for sugar to try to make them moister. I made mini muffins-- 13-14 minutes was enough bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were really yummy! I didn't use walnuts in mine as I don't like nuts in any of my baked goods, and used light vanilla Silk instead of milk. I had to bake mine for about 30mins total as well. They came out a dense, moist muffin with a delicate flavor. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
these are really good i love green tea but wish they were a little more healthy will have to experiment but they are yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good muffins for those who like green tea (such as the Hubster & I)! The flavor is subtle at first, but livens right up as you eat them. The walnuts add the perfect flavor to these muffins so don't pass on them! We liked that they were not too sweet. They're also not "cakey" muffins, so expect them to be more dense than other muffins. Will definitely make again. The Hubster loved the "Shrek" color. Thanks for the fun new recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by hannahlou
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahlou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States