Green Tea Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The muffin didn't taste like muffin nor did it raise like one. It was dense, kind of like a mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I was very unpleased with this recipe. The result was very very dense, even thought I increased the baking powder to 1 and half tsp. As many people mentioned dryness, I reduced the flour to 1 and half cups. It wasn't dry, but it was just so dense that it couldn't have been dry anyway. I like my green tea taste a little stronger, so I increased the powder to 3 tablespoons. That was probably the only saving grace of the whole result- it had a nice green tea flavor. But this recipe is not even worth retrying, there are so many better recipes out there that won't yield such a dense result without a bunch of modifications. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyjoytay
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I am a newbie in baking, but it was so delicious. I followed the steps exactly! :) thank you for the recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
First, thanks for sharing the recipe. However, it is not a good recipe for me. I have added the double amount of the matcha green tea powder(around 2-1/2 tbsp), but it came out no taste of it. They don't really look like "muffins". The "muffin" is really chewy, not the texture of a muffin/cake. Anyways, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My co-workers loved these! They are a very moist and dense muffin, but it works well! I did use oil instead of butter and added about a tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Cyn
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
After following the recipe to a "T" (which is how I think these recipes should always be reviewed), there's really not a lot of flavor to these. Personally I couldn't taste the matcha in them at all, just a slight hint of sugar. I'd definitely double up the green tea next time. These did bake up nicely in 25 mins though, very moist and no hint of brown, just a pretty green colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Quite tasty! I used agave nectar to sweeten instead of sugar, I also replaced 2/3 cup of all purpose flour with whole grain flour. (wanted this to be a healthier option for my 3 year old to snack on) You can really taste the Matcha, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
so good.. i altered the recipe a little a they turned out most and lighter. I cut down the flour to 1 1/3 used canola oil instead of butter and 1 cup of vanilla soy milk used mini liners( all i had) at 350 for 18 min made a lemon honey drizzle to top them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are great for breakfast! I prefer them as mini-muffins (325° for about 18 minutes). I also double the matcha and cut the sugar (I use turbinado) by half. Instead of walnuts, I add chopped pecans, hemp seed, sunflower seed and ground flax seed. Wonderful and nutritious! They are delicious warmed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States