Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is a very tasty cake! The green color showed up beautifully. the green tea flavor is light, so maybe you can add more depending on taste. It is very spongy & moist. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Great cake. However, green tea frosting was bit too sweet for me. Next time I'd substitute frosting with green tea whipcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe rocks. Tips for those who're having a hard time finding green tea powder: you can find those teabag versions easily at your local market, cut and empty those into a blender, and voila you got yourself green tea powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Oh, how I LOVE this cake!!! It's taken me a few months to make this -- I FINALLY decided to splurge & buy the matcha (which, by the way, if you are not near a store that sells matcha, you can go to www.teavana.com). The green color looked great. The frosting is marvelous. I thought the amount of sweetness was just right. I added a little extra matcha & vanilla--very slight amount & the only other change I made was to use all regular flour (that's what I had on hand). The cake is moist & wonderful. I kept it refrigerated in a sealed container. I happen to love green tea...not everyone does. Next time I may increase the frosting ingredients by 1/4. Yummy!! Thanks Suki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this for a party for the first time yesterday and it was a hit. I didn't have green tea powder so I took the advice of another user and bought Stash Green Chai tea bags, opened each bag, poured the loose tea into a coffee grinder and ground to a fine powder. The results were wonderful and everyone at the party commented on how great the taste was...green tea with a hint of spice and not too sweet. I had to double the frosting, however. I made these into cupcakes so I reduced the baking time to 15 minutes and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I think this recipe is great just the way it is, i loved the frosting. The only thing i changed was to put more green tea powder in both the cake batter and frosting. It definitely tastes better after being in the fridge for a day, and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this as a cupcake recipe (due to the lack of cake pans) and it turned out very well. The cakes were moist and the icing complimented them nicely. Things to watch out for: It is recommended to use matcha/green tea powder and NOT the milk tea because the color and the flavour will not be as distinct. Also be careful as to the amount of powder you add to the icing. I judged it by eye to keep it a light (minty) green colour because if you add to much it'll end up looking like a Ninja Turtle . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Great recipe. Thanks Suki! I added a smidge of green food coloring to further the 'green' tea theme and it turned out beautifully. The taste is subtle but refreshingly different. My guests all loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURORA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Yummy! I didn't use the frosting but made my own from a box and added the green tea powder to it. The cake came out brown even after I added food coloring but was delicious. Edit: I forgot to add that I only used 1/2 cup of oil and it turned out fine. Probably less fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
YUMMY! i have tried tons of recipes on allrecipes, this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States