Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe rocks. Tips for those who're having a hard time finding green tea powder: you can find those teabag versions easily at your local market, cut and empty those into a blender, and voila you got yourself green tea powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this for a party for the first time yesterday and it was a hit. I didn't have green tea powder so I took the advice of another user and bought Stash Green Chai tea bags, opened each bag, poured the loose tea into a coffee grinder and ground to a fine powder. The results were wonderful and everyone at the party commented on how great the taste was...green tea with a hint of spice and not too sweet. I had to double the frosting, however. I made these into cupcakes so I reduced the baking time to 15 minutes and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this as a cupcake recipe (due to the lack of cake pans) and it turned out very well. The cakes were moist and the icing complimented them nicely. Things to watch out for: It is recommended to use matcha/green tea powder and NOT the milk tea because the color and the flavour will not be as distinct. Also be careful as to the amount of powder you add to the icing. I judged it by eye to keep it a light (minty) green colour because if you add to much it'll end up looking like a Ninja Turtle . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Oh, how I LOVE this cake!!! It's taken me a few months to make this -- I FINALLY decided to splurge & buy the matcha (which, by the way, if you are not near a store that sells matcha, you can go to www.teavana.com). The green color looked great. The frosting is marvelous. I thought the amount of sweetness was just right. I added a little extra matcha & vanilla--very slight amount & the only other change I made was to use all regular flour (that's what I had on hand). The cake is moist & wonderful. I kept it refrigerated in a sealed container. I happen to love green tea...not everyone does. Next time I may increase the frosting ingredients by 1/4. Yummy!! Thanks Suki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I just want to warn people not to do as I did, and for lack of green powder, use the tea from green tea bags. It doesn't taste like anything. I'm still giving it five stars because the cake's texture was delicious and makes a great plain cake even without the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This cake is SO GOOD!!! It's moist and not overly sweet, and the frosting is delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil, and added an extra tsp. of matcha (so 5 tsp. total). Also, I used 2 tsp. of vanilla and soy milk instead of regular. I didn't have matcha on hand, so I used exactly 10 teabags of green tea and grounded it in a blender. That was enough powder for the entire cake, including the frosting. I did have to double the amount of frosting to cover both layers, and I also reduced the powdered sugar to 1 cup instead of 1 1/4. Definitely add a few drops of green food coloring; it looks much more appetizing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Yummy!!! I love green tea anything so when I saw this I tried it the very next day; I didn't have any cake pans, so I made 2 batches of 12 cupcakes with the batter. The cake came out a beautiful green/brown color, it was wonderful itself. The frosting was also really great, but next time I'll probably increase it by 1/4 so I don't have to scrap the bowl for the last cupcake. The only other change that I made was to use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. For the cupcakes I used the reccommended temperature and baked the cupcakes for 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very nice cake! I baked it in a Bundt pan and sprinkled in some sesame seeds before pouring in the batter; this made an attractive "crust" on the cake. Also, I skipped the frosting and just served it with a simple dollop of whipped cream. If you want your whole meal to have an Asian theme, this is a perfect, light finish to a dinner rich in flavors of soy, garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith08
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used this recipe to make cupcakes instead of one cake. Next time I make it I will use a lot less oil and less sugar (I thought it was a little too sweet). I doubled the maccha in the icing and cake, and will do that next time too. I might try a different icing next time, this one was a little too runny and apparently I'm not a good fan of cream cheese frosting (this was first time I tried it). Other than that I liked it, loved the green tea flavor! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is a very tasty cake! The green color showed up beautifully. the green tea flavor is light, so maybe you can add more depending on taste. It is very spongy & moist. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States