Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
it taste more like steamed cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is a very tasty cake! The green color showed up beautifully. the green tea flavor is light, so maybe you can add more depending on taste. It is very spongy & moist. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very nice cake! I baked it in a Bundt pan and sprinkled in some sesame seeds before pouring in the batter; this made an attractive "crust" on the cake. Also, I skipped the frosting and just served it with a simple dollop of whipped cream. If you want your whole meal to have an Asian theme, this is a perfect, light finish to a dinner rich in flavors of soy, garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Great cake. However, green tea frosting was bit too sweet for me. Next time I'd substitute frosting with green tea whipcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Oh, how I LOVE this cake!!! It's taken me a few months to make this -- I FINALLY decided to splurge & buy the matcha (which, by the way, if you are not near a store that sells matcha, you can go to www.teavana.com). The green color looked great. The frosting is marvelous. I thought the amount of sweetness was just right. I added a little extra matcha & vanilla--very slight amount & the only other change I made was to use all regular flour (that's what I had on hand). The cake is moist & wonderful. I kept it refrigerated in a sealed container. I happen to love green tea...not everyone does. Next time I may increase the frosting ingredients by 1/4. Yummy!! Thanks Suki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The cake was great but not sure if I liked the cream cheese frosting. Like another reviewer, I will try a whipped cream version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Misawa, Aomori, Japan
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I think this recipe is great just the way it is, i loved the frosting. The only thing i changed was to put more green tea powder in both the cake batter and frosting. It definitely tastes better after being in the fridge for a day, and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Green tea taste is not too strong. Even the children liked it. Very good icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOBO
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I loved the cake, but the cake wasn't light and fluffy like some suggested. I couldn't find cake flour at the local supermarket so I used a substitution I found online of a flour and cornstarch mixture. I will definitely try it again with cake flour. The frosting was out of this world, but I did increase the amount by 1.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe rocks. Tips for those who're having a hard time finding green tea powder: you can find those teabag versions easily at your local market, cut and empty those into a blender, and voila you got yourself green tea powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States