Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
it taste more like steamed cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is a very tasty cake! The green color showed up beautifully. the green tea flavor is light, so maybe you can add more depending on taste. It is very spongy & moist. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very nice cake! I baked it in a Bundt pan and sprinkled in some sesame seeds before pouring in the batter; this made an attractive "crust" on the cake. Also, I skipped the frosting and just served it with a simple dollop of whipped cream. If you want your whole meal to have an Asian theme, this is a perfect, light finish to a dinner rich in flavors of soy, garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Great cake. However, green tea frosting was bit too sweet for me. Next time I'd substitute frosting with green tea whipcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Oh, how I LOVE this cake!!! It's taken me a few months to make this -- I FINALLY decided to splurge & buy the matcha (which, by the way, if you are not near a store that sells matcha, you can go to www.teavana.com). The green color looked great. The frosting is marvelous. I thought the amount of sweetness was just right. I added a little extra matcha & vanilla--very slight amount & the only other change I made was to use all regular flour (that's what I had on hand). The cake is moist & wonderful. I kept it refrigerated in a sealed container. I happen to love green tea...not everyone does. Next time I may increase the frosting ingredients by 1/4. Yummy!! Thanks Suki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The cake was great but not sure if I liked the cream cheese frosting. Like another reviewer, I will try a whipped cream version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Woolsey Haggerton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Misawa, Aomori, Japan
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I think this recipe is great just the way it is, i loved the frosting. The only thing i changed was to put more green tea powder in both the cake batter and frosting. It definitely tastes better after being in the fridge for a day, and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Green tea taste is not too strong. Even the children liked it. Very good icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOBO
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I loved the cake, but the cake wasn't light and fluffy like some suggested. I couldn't find cake flour at the local supermarket so I used a substitution I found online of a flour and cornstarch mixture. I will definitely try it again with cake flour. The frosting was out of this world, but I did increase the amount by 1.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe rocks. Tips for those who're having a hard time finding green tea powder: you can find those teabag versions easily at your local market, cut and empty those into a blender, and voila you got yourself green tea powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States