Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Yummy!!! I love green tea anything so when I saw this I tried it the very next day; I didn't have any cake pans, so I made 2 batches of 12 cupcakes with the batter. The cake came out a beautiful green/brown color, it was wonderful itself. The frosting was also really great, but next time I'll probably increase it by 1/4 so I don't have to scrap the bowl for the last cupcake. The only other change that I made was to use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. For the cupcakes I used the reccommended temperature and baked the cupcakes for 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This cake was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake came out moist and fluffy. I did have to double the frosting though. I had my friends and family try it and they loved it. Everyone kept on coming over until the cake was gone. Thanks for the recipe!! Try to find the powder green tea though otherwise you won't get the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This cake is SO GOOD!!! It's moist and not overly sweet, and the frosting is delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil, and added an extra tsp. of matcha (so 5 tsp. total). Also, I used 2 tsp. of vanilla and soy milk instead of regular. I didn't have matcha on hand, so I used exactly 10 teabags of green tea and grounded it in a blender. That was enough powder for the entire cake, including the frosting. I did have to double the amount of frosting to cover both layers, and I also reduced the powdered sugar to 1 cup instead of 1 1/4. Definitely add a few drops of green food coloring; it looks much more appetizing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! This cake got gobbled up quick. Like other people have said, the amount of icing this recipe produces is not enough for the cake. Go ahead and multiply the icing ingrediants by one and a half, or two. And I would not recommend making this using regular green tea. Find the green tea powder/matcha/maccha at an Asian foods store. It is so fine, it looks nothing like regular green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was, in the words of my family, not as bad as it could have been. I love green tea (with green tea ice cream is my favorite flavor), so I had hopes. It wasn't bad, but it didn't live up to my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was really good the first time I made it, and the second time I substituted buttermilk for the yogurt and it was extra moist. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Really disappointed. The cake doesn't taste even remotely like matcha. When cooked, it is actually a dull brown. Reading the ingredients list, I thought the amount of green tea powder was very small, but all the good reviews persuaded me to try this recipe anyway. I'll stick with my other green tea cake recipe from a cooking blog called "Do What I Like". Really, don't make this recipe if you want a cake that actually tastes like matcha (and is the appropriate colour). Two stars for the texture/crumb: very moist and fluffy. Note: the frosting does have a matcha taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
The cake was refreshing, like having a glass of sweet tea. Green tea powder can be found very inexpensively at your local Asian supermarket, often in the Japanese section. I used the cake flour like specified, and the cake was light similarly to a boxed cake. The cake itself was not too sweet and was nicely complemented by the frosting. I doubled the quantity for the frosting and that was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
i use 1.5x more green tea powder and i love the strong taste. i use 3/4 cup of sugar to the cake, that was good. im not really into sweet cakes. the frosting was way too sweet for me. i use whipping cream instead of cream cheese. afterall, my friends love it, but for me its too sweet and too milky. but i really love the vibrant color and the strong "bitterness" of the green tea. btw, i have some problem as the cake didnt develop well, it is way too dense. and i wouldlike to subsitute the yogurt, if i could coz its too mily for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this cake yesterday for an Asian-themed dinner party, and had rave reviews. The one thing that confused me was when I printed the recipe in the 4x6 print format, the milk quantity didn't print (strange). Luckily, I winged it and added just enough to make the frosting. I used soy milk also, it worked great. Another thing I did was add coconut. Maybe this turns this into a different type of cake, but a half cup (or however much you like) of toasted coconut (bake in 350 degrees until lightly browned) sprinkled on top and refrigerated was excellent. I served with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. Also, I found machta green tea powder at Whole Foods (after a long search). They came in a small box of individual packets that you are supposed to pour in a water bottle. A little pricey (I used two boxes at $7.99/ea), but well worth it as far as I'm concerned for trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States