Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made this for my son and his girl for their house warming party with an oriental theme it is so light and yummy...everybody LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Blue Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe; somehow I end up making it for everyone's birthday (either by request or whim as cupcakes. The cake is light and moist; just don't leave it in too long, otherwise it'll look unattractive. I've only had problems with the frosting recipe being too runny, but once I adjusted the amount of milk, it's been great. Apart from that, this recipe is a must-try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it in a 9x13 pan and baked it for 30 minutes, which was almost perfect time. I didn't change any of the ingredients. People at work were a little offput by the colour... but all around pretty successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very tasty, not too sweet cake. The green tea flavor was not very strong, but it's still a great cake. Like others, I used ground up tea bags (a combo of mostly green tea with a couple spicy chai.) Also like others mentioned, make more frosting; I did 1.5x the recipe. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Really light,fluffy,moist and tastes awesome.I didnt have cake flour,added 2 tablespoons corn startch to 2 cups flour-came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Yummy!!! I love green tea anything so when I saw this I tried it the very next day; I didn't have any cake pans, so I made 2 batches of 12 cupcakes with the batter. The cake came out a beautiful green/brown color, it was wonderful itself. The frosting was also really great, but next time I'll probably increase it by 1/4 so I don't have to scrap the bowl for the last cupcake. The only other change that I made was to use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. For the cupcakes I used the reccommended temperature and baked the cupcakes for 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This cake was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake came out moist and fluffy. I did have to double the frosting though. I had my friends and family try it and they loved it. Everyone kept on coming over until the cake was gone. Thanks for the recipe!! Try to find the powder green tea though otherwise you won't get the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This cake is SO GOOD!!! It's moist and not overly sweet, and the frosting is delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil, and added an extra tsp. of matcha (so 5 tsp. total). Also, I used 2 tsp. of vanilla and soy milk instead of regular. I didn't have matcha on hand, so I used exactly 10 teabags of green tea and grounded it in a blender. That was enough powder for the entire cake, including the frosting. I did have to double the amount of frosting to cover both layers, and I also reduced the powdered sugar to 1 cup instead of 1 1/4. Definitely add a few drops of green food coloring; it looks much more appetizing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! This cake got gobbled up quick. Like other people have said, the amount of icing this recipe produces is not enough for the cake. Go ahead and multiply the icing ingrediants by one and a half, or two. And I would not recommend making this using regular green tea. Find the green tea powder/matcha/maccha at an Asian foods store. It is so fine, it looks nothing like regular green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was, in the words of my family, not as bad as it could have been. I love green tea (with green tea ice cream is my favorite flavor), so I had hopes. It wasn't bad, but it didn't live up to my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States