Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was delicious. I highly recommend previous notes on buying Green Chai Tea in bags and powdering it yourself. the Chai adds spices that dance on your tongue! the cream cheese icing is very strong, i would want to try it with a lighter fluffier cream cheese icing next time. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. However, I won't double the frosting like others recommended next time I make it. I did cut down the sugar in the cake and frosting considerably and it turned out perfect for the cake, the frosting still needs less. And, I would add more cream cheese to the frosting, otherwise you can barely tell it's there. For the powdered green tea just buy instant iced green tea. I bought the Kroger brand which was just powdered green tea. No need to blend it like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
It was moist and not too sweet, just like the recipe description stated. I altered the icing so that I could have enough, and so I could adjust the sweetness. I used 8 oz. of cream cheese and 2 1/4 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Faith08
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used this recipe to make cupcakes instead of one cake. Next time I make it I will use a lot less oil and less sugar (I thought it was a little too sweet). I doubled the maccha in the icing and cake, and will do that next time too. I might try a different icing next time, this one was a little too runny and apparently I'm not a good fan of cream cheese frosting (this was first time I tried it). Other than that I liked it, loved the green tea flavor! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I've made this twice: once in a 9X13 pan and once in two 9 inch rounds. The first time I pretty much followed the original recipe and it came out light and moist, but I felt the green tea flavor was a bit subdued. So, for my second time around, I upped the green tea powder in the batter to about 5.5 tsp. I also used blackberry yogurt in place of the plain yogurt to give the cake a light fruity taste. I added about 8 drops of green food coloring to the batter and the cake came out a really pretty light green color. For the frosting, I also upped the green tea powder to 4 tsp and used about 4 oz. of cream cheese. It was a little grainy, but the green tea taste was much stronger, which was what I was going for. I bought the green tea powder at a Japanese grocery market for $5.99; it was not the Maccha brand as that was was almost $10! I personally think it tastes great despite using the cheaper brand and I doubt anyone will notice the difference. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very moist and tasty. I loved it a lot and sure going to do this again. Thanks, for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is the first cake ever that we were able to finish (and I guess that can be good and bad!) It was wonderful! I used instant green tea and it was perfect. Not too sweet. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
TOOK THIS TO A ASIAN THEME POTLUCK AND EVERYONE WHO LIKE GREEN TEA LOVED IT.USED CHAI GREEN TEA BAGS AND THE TASTE WAS DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DECAFinNW
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe is everything it says it is. Made it for my daughter's Baby Shower and everyone loved it. I did double the icing, because I made 2 single layer cakes instead of stacking them. Added at least a cup of extra powdered sugar to thicken the icing enough for frosting the cakes. Used loose green tea, powdered in the coffee grinder. (Be sure to grind extra long) Gave the icing a 'mint chocolate chip' look! The taste was wonderful, overall a very good recipe, and a delightfully different taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I thought the idea of the cake was really good and it was okay but for some reason it tasted kinda floury.... i did half the recipe because there are only two of us so maybe i didnt half it exactly right.... i will make it again and try to figure out why it tasted floury!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States