Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I really like how this cake turned out! Very tasty, not too sweet. Easy to make, too. I baked it for my birthday/christmas dinner. I only used all-purpose flour, and regular sugar for the icing, but it didn't seem to have negative effects on the finished product. Also, instead of pure matcha I got by accident a mixture of matcha and green tea leaves - not having a grinder or blender, I just put the leaves in as is. It still tasted great, and the cake had sort of a speckled look - kind of like a green lemon poppyseed cake. Pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was good but I really didn't know what to expect. I wanted a recipe for a friend's birthday who loves green tea. She doesn't care for very sweet desserts and this wasn't overly sweet. Tasted more like a spice cake to me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe really is so good. The first time I tried it, I couldn't taste the green tea flavor distinctly, so I added 2 tbsp more. To make the icing a nicer green color, I added green & yellow food coloring. I baked this recipe using mini bundt pans and topped the icing with chopped pistachio nuts. . . great as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasig City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made cupcakes, and they were at hit at my asian themed party. I wasn't that impressed myself, I couldn't taste the green tea, even though I added extra. But my guests gobbled them up so I guess that's what really matters. They sure were pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Made this for my birthday. Perfect! Great with strawberries too! I'll definitely be making this again...thank you so much~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I loved this cake! It was a little difficult to get the green tea powder but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this and got rave reviews. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brennasma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this cake as my friend's birthday present. She and the other guests loved it! I bought the cheapest green tea powder available at the local Korean market, not matcha. I added more green powder and it was still not enough (in comparison to the green tea cakes sold at korean and japanese bakeries). None the less it was very good. I spread white chocolate curls on top of the cake. Oh and if you want the green color to be shown in the cake, you probably should add some food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
it was too much green tea with the icing. Next time I would do just the cake or just the icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I just want to warn people not to do as I did, and for lack of green powder, use the tea from green tea bags. It doesn't taste like anything. I'm still giving it five stars because the cake's texture was delicious and makes a great plain cake even without the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States