Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made cupcakes, and they were at hit at my asian themed party. I wasn't that impressed myself, I couldn't taste the green tea, even though I added extra. But my guests gobbled them up so I guess that's what really matters. They sure were pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Made this for my birthday. Perfect! Great with strawberries too! I'll definitely be making this again...thank you so much~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I loved this cake! It was a little difficult to get the green tea powder but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this and got rave reviews. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brennasma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this cake as my friend's birthday present. She and the other guests loved it! I bought the cheapest green tea powder available at the local Korean market, not matcha. I added more green powder and it was still not enough (in comparison to the green tea cakes sold at korean and japanese bakeries). None the less it was very good. I spread white chocolate curls on top of the cake. Oh and if you want the green color to be shown in the cake, you probably should add some food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
it was too much green tea with the icing. Next time I would do just the cake or just the icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I just want to warn people not to do as I did, and for lack of green powder, use the tea from green tea bags. It doesn't taste like anything. I'm still giving it five stars because the cake's texture was delicious and makes a great plain cake even without the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was delicious. I highly recommend previous notes on buying Green Chai Tea in bags and powdering it yourself. the Chai adds spices that dance on your tongue! the cream cheese icing is very strong, i would want to try it with a lighter fluffier cream cheese icing next time. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. However, I won't double the frosting like others recommended next time I make it. I did cut down the sugar in the cake and frosting considerably and it turned out perfect for the cake, the frosting still needs less. And, I would add more cream cheese to the frosting, otherwise you can barely tell it's there. For the powdered green tea just buy instant iced green tea. I bought the Kroger brand which was just powdered green tea. No need to blend it like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
It was moist and not too sweet, just like the recipe description stated. I altered the icing so that I could have enough, and so I could adjust the sweetness. I used 8 oz. of cream cheese and 2 1/4 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States