Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I bought matcha when I was in Japan and decided to try out this recipe. I ended up making 15 large cupcakes from this recipe. I didn't have cake flour, so a known substitute for 1 c cake flour is 1 cup all-purpose flour minus 2 tablespoons, PLUS 2 tablespoons of corn starch. I used 1/2 c applesauce and decreased the oil to 1/2 c. I don't like things being too sweet so I decreased the sugar to 1 c. If the cupcakes were eaten alone, they would have needed the full amount of sugar, but with the icing, it was just perfect. I used 4 oz cream cheese in the icing and I had a lot of icing for the 15 cupcakes. While this made a nice and moist cake overall, there still wasn't enough green tea taste and I would add more matcha in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is delicious! I served it for my housewarming party and everyone loved it. So many compliments, especially from people who thought cake made from Green tea sounded gross. My husband asks for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I live in Japan and I sent the cake in the mail to two different Japanese families. They all loved it. One said that it is addictive! Arigatou gozaimasu, Suki-san!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I just made this cake with a high hope...however, the cake didn't turn out that great. It's very moist but there is hardly any green tea taste to it. I in fact used 5 tspn but still can't taste any green tea. It could be that I used brown sugar which may have overpower the taste of green tea. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LEMON ZEST brightens up both the cake and the frosting! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very moist but too sweet and not enough green tea powder. I cut the sugar in 1/2 for the batter and used 8oz cream cheese to make the topping thicker. Also doubled the green tea powder for the frosting and came out wonderfully! Sprinkle some over the finished product, looks and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I actually just tried this recipe yesterday. It is a great recipe and the cake is moist, sweet but not too sweet. However, this cake tasted like a regular cake with minimal green tea flavor. If you are a fan of green tea and looking for an authenic green tea cake like that found at a japanese bakery this is NOT the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ILOVELUIGI326
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This cake is tasty. The only thing is that it doesn't taste like green tea-- and I doubled the amount of matcha! Kind of disappointing. I made the frosting too, and had the same problem. I found it helped to sift some raw matcha over the cupcakes to give them a green tea taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILOVELUIGI326

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this for a girl scout event, the girls came back for seconds. Next time I will try and find powdered green tea and see if there is any difference. Over all a good cake that is not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I'm sorry but this did not taste much like green tea even though I added a bit more as suggested. It was moist but it did not have good flavor at all. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHABBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States