Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I just made this cake with a high hope...however, the cake didn't turn out that great. It's very moist but there is hardly any green tea taste to it. I in fact used 5 tspn but still can't taste any green tea. It could be that I used brown sugar which may have overpower the taste of green tea. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LEMON ZEST brightens up both the cake and the frosting! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very moist but too sweet and not enough green tea powder. I cut the sugar in 1/2 for the batter and used 8oz cream cheese to make the topping thicker. Also doubled the green tea powder for the frosting and came out wonderfully! Sprinkle some over the finished product, looks and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I actually just tried this recipe yesterday. It is a great recipe and the cake is moist, sweet but not too sweet. However, this cake tasted like a regular cake with minimal green tea flavor. If you are a fan of green tea and looking for an authenic green tea cake like that found at a japanese bakery this is NOT the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ILOVELUIGI326
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This cake is tasty. The only thing is that it doesn't taste like green tea-- and I doubled the amount of matcha! Kind of disappointing. I made the frosting too, and had the same problem. I found it helped to sift some raw matcha over the cupcakes to give them a green tea taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILOVELUIGI326

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this for a girl scout event, the girls came back for seconds. Next time I will try and find powdered green tea and see if there is any difference. Over all a good cake that is not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I'm sorry but this did not taste much like green tea even though I added a bit more as suggested. It was moist but it did not have good flavor at all. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHABBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I really like how this cake turned out! Very tasty, not too sweet. Easy to make, too. I baked it for my birthday/christmas dinner. I only used all-purpose flour, and regular sugar for the icing, but it didn't seem to have negative effects on the finished product. Also, instead of pure matcha I got by accident a mixture of matcha and green tea leaves - not having a grinder or blender, I just put the leaves in as is. It still tasted great, and the cake had sort of a speckled look - kind of like a green lemon poppyseed cake. Pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was good but I really didn't know what to expect. I wanted a recipe for a friend's birthday who loves green tea. She doesn't care for very sweet desserts and this wasn't overly sweet. Tasted more like a spice cake to me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe really is so good. The first time I tried it, I couldn't taste the green tea flavor distinctly, so I added 2 tbsp more. To make the icing a nicer green color, I added green & yellow food coloring. I baked this recipe using mini bundt pans and topped the icing with chopped pistachio nuts. . . great as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasig City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States