Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I halved the recipe because I don't have much use for a two-layer cake, so I baked one 8" round layer in my unreliable oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. I didn't have matcha, so instead I ground up the contents of two teabags. Probably not the best method, and I imagine it would taste better with higher-quality, better-ground powder, but it does taste pretty good! Nice and subtle, and the texture of this cake is amazing, even with applesauce in place of half the oil. I used some leftover cream cheese icing out of my freezer rather than making green tea icing, and I have to say, I think the flavor would be too overpowering for me with tea-flavored icing too, so regular cream cheese icing (I like mine not very sweet) has a great contrast. I like the subtlety. Waiting to see what my green tea loving friends think of the cake, but thus far I think this cake easily deserves 4-5 stars if you like green tea flavored desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I've made this twice now, once as a single layer cake (I only had 1 cake pan and limited time) and once as cupcakes. I actually think that I prefer this as a cupcakes (as someone else mentioned they only take about 15 minutes in the oven). The cupcakes bake up to be rather light and moist, but the cake turned out very tasty as well. I love the flavor of green tea and wanted it to be a bit stronger so I actually added about another teaspoon and a half of the green tea powder to both the cake and the frosting. If you are looking to really get the taste of the green tea, I would definitely recommend adding more than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
People at work hated it, I personally didn't hate it but I've had better cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
THis is the best! I was bored, so I decided to make something. I do not have any powedered green tea, but I do have green tea with Jasmine, so I just ground that in a coffee grinder, and it was great! I might try mint green tea next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elfess-chan

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I added the red bean into the recipe. I would recommend adding 1.5 cups instead of the 1 cup. The red bean flavor doesn't come out as strong as the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I bought matcha when I was in Japan and decided to try out this recipe. I ended up making 15 large cupcakes from this recipe. I didn't have cake flour, so a known substitute for 1 c cake flour is 1 cup all-purpose flour minus 2 tablespoons, PLUS 2 tablespoons of corn starch. I used 1/2 c applesauce and decreased the oil to 1/2 c. I don't like things being too sweet so I decreased the sugar to 1 c. If the cupcakes were eaten alone, they would have needed the full amount of sugar, but with the icing, it was just perfect. I used 4 oz cream cheese in the icing and I had a lot of icing for the 15 cupcakes. While this made a nice and moist cake overall, there still wasn't enough green tea taste and I would add more matcha in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is delicious! I served it for my housewarming party and everyone loved it. So many compliments, especially from people who thought cake made from Green tea sounded gross. My husband asks for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I live in Japan and I sent the cake in the mail to two different Japanese families. They all loved it. One said that it is addictive! Arigatou gozaimasu, Suki-san!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I just made this cake with a high hope...however, the cake didn't turn out that great. It's very moist but there is hardly any green tea taste to it. I in fact used 5 tspn but still can't taste any green tea. It could be that I used brown sugar which may have overpower the taste of green tea. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LEMON ZEST brightens up both the cake and the frosting! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States