Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This cake is absolutely fantastic. I made a few alterations to my tastes and to what I had on hand. I used all all-purpose flour instead of half AP half cake flour, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup light corn syrup, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk (I found out my yogurt had expired, so I improvised). I also used loose tea leaves, as I didn't look closely enough when I went to buy the powdered green tea. The texture was a little strange, but the taste was fine. Next time I will buy the right thing, though. The icing is divine and it was more than enough to ice the whole cake (with me swiping fingertip-fulls inbetween). It adds a creaminess and extra sweetness without being overpowering. I will definitely make this again, and this time I'll make sure to read the packaging more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I didn't care for this recipe. I thought the cake was very dry and the frosting tasted too much like cream cheese. I don't have any suggestions as to how to fix it. I don't think I would ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow! I made this for my birthday party and I just love it! Not too sweet, I'm not much of a fan of traditional birthday cakes. The frosting was amazing, I'm glad I doubled the recipe because then I got to lick extra off the bowl. I did add a couple drops of green food coloring. I found that a bag of green tea is a teaspoon, I just put it in the food processor and whirled the heck out of it. Still left lil green chunks in my frosting but I love it :) Thanks for an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
AWESOME recipe! It comes out lovely and moist every time! I like to turn up the heat a little higher so that the outside of my cakes cook a little faster and have a bit of a crunchy crust to them, but that's just me. Make sure you use fresh matcha powder though! If your powder doesn't look fresh and vibrant green, your cake will look just as brown and taste just as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This cake turned out very nicely. I used 2 cups of all-purpose flour because I didn't have any cake flour on hand, and I doubled the ingredients for the frosting. The cake came out incredibly moist, with a light flavor. I was happy that the green tea taste was subtle--almost like a zucchini bread taste. The frosting was good, too, though a bit more sugary then I prefer my cream cheese frosting. I made this cake for a co-worker who requested a "something with green tea," so I'm hoping it will live up to her expectations! Overall, though, this is a nice cake to serve to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Thank you very much for this recipe! I wanted to use some green tea powder that was too bitter I used half amount of sugar but the cake still tasted nice! There's no magarine or butter involved in this recipe, so I could brag that it not only tasted great but was also good for health =) (I used extra virgin olive oil)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delish! Followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT added one more teaspoon of tea. The flavor is still subtle, but my hubby guessed it right away. I agree that it's really important to use actual matcha. One more tip...if you're icing this as a layer cake, double or triple the icing recipe. Otherwise you're going to end up with a very thin layer of icing over the layers. Nomnom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
i bake it in a 9x13inch pan and it takes 30mins. however the problem is the green tea is not in powder form. i follow the other viewers advices and blend it in a blender. but it didnt work at all. and when i mixed it with the batter, my family thought i was making poppy seed cake! anyway, the cake came out really nice and moist, the mistake didnt affect it too much except the cake didnt have any green tea flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I tried this recipe out for the first time yesterday, overall it wasn't bad, but there are some slight improvements that can be made. The cake itself was delicious but the frosting wasn't up to par. It was way to runny and sweet for my tastes, it was a battle trying to keep the kitchen clean when the icing was falling off the cake. I took the tip of another reviewer and added in some food colouring, the frosting looked better that way. I could have used a liitle more matcha in the cake, I love green tea so it may just be in relation to my taste buds. The cake was great on its own though, while waiting i took bits and pieces of the part I cut off. I will definatly try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I like that this is so moist. It's not spongy, but it is moist. I filled this with plain cream since I didn't want anything to compete with the green tea. The matcha flavor is not overly pronounced...it's presence is more like an essence. There is an undertone of tea, but I also used double than what was called for in the recipe. I think my friends will like this a lot especially since it's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States