Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Green Tea Layer Cake Haiku: "Made this as cupcakes. Light whisper of green tea taste. Had to change some things." I couldn't find green tea powder, so I followed some reviewers' suggestions of emptying tea bags in my coffee bean grinder, which I assume is why both my cupcakes and frosting came out a more murky shade than some of the more lovely submitted photos. (Btw, I think it ended up requiring 9 teabags.) I tinted my frosting w/ green food coloring to counter the not-so-attractive hue that using teabags over powder produced. I ended up with 15 cupcakes, all frosted fairly well, but I think one would need to double the frosting in order to cover a layer cake. The end result was a delicate flavor, not too pronounced, but dainty and light. What's not light; however, is the ample addition of veg. oil, so if I make this again, I will hunt down green tea powder, as well as decrease the oil and maybe sub some applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by ceekang
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I just made this cake into cupcakes and it is SO yummy! I did put more green tea powder though, instead of the 4 tsp I put 6. The only thing that is maybe a bit much in this cake is the oil. (I let the cupcakes rest on a paper towel after cooling a bit to soak up some of it). But other than that it came out great and was really moist too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I had the wrong kind of green tea so I couldn't taste the tea in it at all (despite tripling the original requirement). In the end it tasted like a vanilla cake, but it was a delicious vanilla cake. My only complaint, and it's a rather important one, is that it called for way too much OIL. A whole cup? My cupcakes leave rings wherever you set them down, and that's through the paper. Next time I'll skip oil and use apple sauce instead, I think it'd play nicely off the tea flavour. Oh, and I'll use the right kind of tea. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I gave this cake only four stars for one reason; It tastes like a plain white cake, a really moist delicious plain white cake. The only changes I made was halving the recipe, and using whole grain white flour instead of cake/all-purpose flour. I didn't try the icing (no cream cheese on hand). I used green tea powder but the green tea flavor was so slight that I don't think I would've known it was even in it! I think the vanilla may be overpowering the green tea. Next time I'll reduce the vanilla and up the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This cake is absolutely fantastic. I made a few alterations to my tastes and to what I had on hand. I used all all-purpose flour instead of half AP half cake flour, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup light corn syrup, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk (I found out my yogurt had expired, so I improvised). I also used loose tea leaves, as I didn't look closely enough when I went to buy the powdered green tea. The texture was a little strange, but the taste was fine. Next time I will buy the right thing, though. The icing is divine and it was more than enough to ice the whole cake (with me swiping fingertip-fulls inbetween). It adds a creaminess and extra sweetness without being overpowering. I will definitely make this again, and this time I'll make sure to read the packaging more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I didn't care for this recipe. I thought the cake was very dry and the frosting tasted too much like cream cheese. I don't have any suggestions as to how to fix it. I don't think I would ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow! I made this for my birthday party and I just love it! Not too sweet, I'm not much of a fan of traditional birthday cakes. The frosting was amazing, I'm glad I doubled the recipe because then I got to lick extra off the bowl. I did add a couple drops of green food coloring. I found that a bag of green tea is a teaspoon, I just put it in the food processor and whirled the heck out of it. Still left lil green chunks in my frosting but I love it :) Thanks for an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
AWESOME recipe! It comes out lovely and moist every time! I like to turn up the heat a little higher so that the outside of my cakes cook a little faster and have a bit of a crunchy crust to them, but that's just me. Make sure you use fresh matcha powder though! If your powder doesn't look fresh and vibrant green, your cake will look just as brown and taste just as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This cake turned out very nicely. I used 2 cups of all-purpose flour because I didn't have any cake flour on hand, and I doubled the ingredients for the frosting. The cake came out incredibly moist, with a light flavor. I was happy that the green tea taste was subtle--almost like a zucchini bread taste. The frosting was good, too, though a bit more sugary then I prefer my cream cheese frosting. I made this cake for a co-worker who requested a "something with green tea," so I'm hoping it will live up to her expectations! Overall, though, this is a nice cake to serve to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Thank you very much for this recipe! I wanted to use some green tea powder that was too bitter I used half amount of sugar but the cake still tasted nice! There's no magarine or butter involved in this recipe, so I could brag that it not only tasted great but was also good for health =) (I used extra virgin olive oil)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States