Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This cake was pretty good, but it was pretty oily - I will probably make it again, but cut the oil down by at least 1/4 cup, or maybe use a lighter oil like grapeseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was a wonderful cake! It went well after our sushi dinner for a Saturday night buffet feast. My children loved this. I will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
very good and original. the green tea flavor really comes through. I took the advice of others and used a coffee grinder to make powder out of tea bag contents. The only problem i had was i didn't have enough frosting for the sides so i'd suggest doubling or at least 1 1/2 the frosting recipe. thank for such a unique treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it turned out really well! The green tea flavor wasn't as strong as I thought it might be but it was still there. Also, the cake turned a very dark green color when baked. It didn't taste any less delicious, just looks a little strange. ^_~ I made a plain cream cheese icing instead of adding the matcha and it complements the cake very well. The only thing I would change about this recipe is to increase the amount of icing. I made the 9" round layer cake per the recipe and the icing seemed a little sparse. Other than that, great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Green Tea Layer Cake Haiku: "Made this as cupcakes. Light whisper of green tea taste. Had to change some things." I couldn't find green tea powder, so I followed some reviewers' suggestions of emptying tea bags in my coffee bean grinder, which I assume is why both my cupcakes and frosting came out a more murky shade than some of the more lovely submitted photos. (Btw, I think it ended up requiring 9 teabags.) I tinted my frosting w/ green food coloring to counter the not-so-attractive hue that using teabags over powder produced. I ended up with 15 cupcakes, all frosted fairly well, but I think one would need to double the frosting in order to cover a layer cake. The end result was a delicate flavor, not too pronounced, but dainty and light. What's not light; however, is the ample addition of veg. oil, so if I make this again, I will hunt down green tea powder, as well as decrease the oil and maybe sub some applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by ceekang
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I just made this cake into cupcakes and it is SO yummy! I did put more green tea powder though, instead of the 4 tsp I put 6. The only thing that is maybe a bit much in this cake is the oil. (I let the cupcakes rest on a paper towel after cooling a bit to soak up some of it). But other than that it came out great and was really moist too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I had the wrong kind of green tea so I couldn't taste the tea in it at all (despite tripling the original requirement). In the end it tasted like a vanilla cake, but it was a delicious vanilla cake. My only complaint, and it's a rather important one, is that it called for way too much OIL. A whole cup? My cupcakes leave rings wherever you set them down, and that's through the paper. Next time I'll skip oil and use apple sauce instead, I think it'd play nicely off the tea flavour. Oh, and I'll use the right kind of tea. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I gave this cake only four stars for one reason; It tastes like a plain white cake, a really moist delicious plain white cake. The only changes I made was halving the recipe, and using whole grain white flour instead of cake/all-purpose flour. I didn't try the icing (no cream cheese on hand). I used green tea powder but the green tea flavor was so slight that I don't think I would've known it was even in it! I think the vanilla may be overpowering the green tea. Next time I'll reduce the vanilla and up the green tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This cake is absolutely fantastic. I made a few alterations to my tastes and to what I had on hand. I used all all-purpose flour instead of half AP half cake flour, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup light corn syrup, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk (I found out my yogurt had expired, so I improvised). I also used loose tea leaves, as I didn't look closely enough when I went to buy the powdered green tea. The texture was a little strange, but the taste was fine. Next time I will buy the right thing, though. The icing is divine and it was more than enough to ice the whole cake (with me swiping fingertip-fulls inbetween). It adds a creaminess and extra sweetness without being overpowering. I will definitely make this again, and this time I'll make sure to read the packaging more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States