Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I tried making this cake and it turned out to be really good! It is light-tasting, not too sweet but has a distinct green tea flavor. The texture of the cake is just the right moistness. However, I think the filling/frosting is too rich and sugary. I would suggest reducing the amount of sugar and adding heavy whipping cream to the frosting to create a dense but not too sweet frosting. Filling the layer cake with slices of kiwi fruit is also a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanie234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm only giving three stars b/c I have not tried this yet. By the looks of it, some people recommend grinding up the green tea leaves that come in a brewing sack. I recommend you don't. It is not the same thing as match a powder. Not at all. If you've never had matcha or match a flavored things, understandable why you'd think 'making your own' is sufficient. Go and buy the real thing! The Green tea leaves used in making matcha are harvested at a different stage of maturity, resulting in a distinctly different flavor. Real matcha will not only provide a more prominent flavor, but give your cake&frosting a more delightful colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! Instead of 1 cup of vegetable oil, I used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil plus 1 cup of sweetened applesauce. Instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar, I used 3/4 cup of white sugar. I agree that the frosting isn't enough to cover all the cake if you make cupcakes, but I didn't mind having some cupcakes left unfrosted (the cake tastes great by iteself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Tried this recipe today with reduced sugar,totally satisfied with the cake, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I thought this recipe was great! I didn't like how much oil and sugar it asked for so I ended up modifying it to make it more healthy. I used 3/4 Cup of sugar, 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup applesauce to substitute for the rest of the oil for moistness. I also did cupcakes instead of a cake, baked it in the oven for 350 for 19 minutes. The sides were a little more brown than I would've like it to be, so I would bake it couple minutes less next time. The cupcake came out nice and moist and fluffy, loved it! I'm going to try to putting red beans (azuki) or mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This cake was pretty good, but it was pretty oily - I will probably make it again, but cut the oil down by at least 1/4 cup, or maybe use a lighter oil like grapeseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was a wonderful cake! It went well after our sushi dinner for a Saturday night buffet feast. My children loved this. I will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
very good and original. the green tea flavor really comes through. I took the advice of others and used a coffee grinder to make powder out of tea bag contents. The only problem i had was i didn't have enough frosting for the sides so i'd suggest doubling or at least 1 1/2 the frosting recipe. thank for such a unique treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it turned out really well! The green tea flavor wasn't as strong as I thought it might be but it was still there. Also, the cake turned a very dark green color when baked. It didn't taste any less delicious, just looks a little strange. ^_~ I made a plain cream cheese icing instead of adding the matcha and it complements the cake very well. The only thing I would change about this recipe is to increase the amount of icing. I made the 9" round layer cake per the recipe and the icing seemed a little sparse. Other than that, great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States