Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Best recipe for green tea cake! Normally green tea food is special for people to like but this one is a hit among all! I think the cake flour and yogurt ingredients made this incredible. I did cupcakes instead of cake and it was wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
:3 yummy with whipcream strawberries and tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeloVlog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
The cake itself would definately recieve a 5 star rating, however I feel like the cream cheese over powers the cakes delicate flavor. Perhaps matcha powder added to a vanilla frosting or buttercream would suit the cake better. I will add this cake recipe to my favorites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quelchie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was delicious and easy. We made it for St. Patrick's Day and my 6 year-old daughter LOVED it! The only reason I deducted a star from my rating is because I made 1 and 1/3 times the icing recipe and it still was barely enough to cover the cake. Next time I'd just double it and probably have a little left over. The only other changes I made were that I used mostly all-purpose flour and a little white whole wheat flour because that's all I had. I also held back slightly on the matcha powder in the icing because I wanted a lighter minty green color instead of a dark pea green. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous and refreshing cake! I used a half cup applesauce and a half cup oil in place of the 1 cup oil and doubled the amount of green tea powder. The cream cheese icing is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I tried making this cake and it turned out to be really good! It is light-tasting, not too sweet but has a distinct green tea flavor. The texture of the cake is just the right moistness. However, I think the filling/frosting is too rich and sugary. I would suggest reducing the amount of sugar and adding heavy whipping cream to the frosting to create a dense but not too sweet frosting. Filling the layer cake with slices of kiwi fruit is also a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanie234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm only giving three stars b/c I have not tried this yet. By the looks of it, some people recommend grinding up the green tea leaves that come in a brewing sack. I recommend you don't. It is not the same thing as match a powder. Not at all. If you've never had matcha or match a flavored things, understandable why you'd think 'making your own' is sufficient. Go and buy the real thing! The Green tea leaves used in making matcha are harvested at a different stage of maturity, resulting in a distinctly different flavor. Real matcha will not only provide a more prominent flavor, but give your cake&frosting a more delightful colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! Instead of 1 cup of vegetable oil, I used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil plus 1 cup of sweetened applesauce. Instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar, I used 3/4 cup of white sugar. I agree that the frosting isn't enough to cover all the cake if you make cupcakes, but I didn't mind having some cupcakes left unfrosted (the cake tastes great by iteself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Tried this recipe today with reduced sugar,totally satisfied with the cake, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States