Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very tasty, especially after it rests a day in the fridge. The cake is really moist and has a great texture, though I found the frosting color a bit too green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
YUMMY! i have tried tons of recipes on allrecipes, this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Yummy! I didn't use the frosting but made my own from a box and added the green tea powder to it. The cake came out brown even after I added food coloring but was delicious. Edit: I forgot to add that I only used 1/2 cup of oil and it turned out fine. Probably less fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this as a cupcake recipe (due to the lack of cake pans) and it turned out very well. The cakes were moist and the icing complimented them nicely. Things to watch out for: It is recommended to use matcha/green tea powder and NOT the milk tea because the color and the flavour will not be as distinct. Also be careful as to the amount of powder you add to the icing. I judged it by eye to keep it a light (minty) green colour because if you add to much it'll end up looking like a Ninja Turtle . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this for a party for the first time yesterday and it was a hit. I didn't have green tea powder so I took the advice of another user and bought Stash Green Chai tea bags, opened each bag, poured the loose tea into a coffee grinder and ground to a fine powder. The results were wonderful and everyone at the party commented on how great the taste was...green tea with a hint of spice and not too sweet. I had to double the frosting, however. I made these into cupcakes so I reduced the baking time to 15 minutes and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Great recipe. Thanks Suki! I added a smidge of green food coloring to further the 'green' tea theme and it turned out beautifully. The taste is subtle but refreshingly different. My guests all loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURORA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I was dissapointed to see that there was not a hint of green to this cake when I took it out of the oven. It looks more like a spice cake. It does have a nice mild green tea flavor. Not to overpowering. The frosting is good with a good green tea flavor but it needs to be doubled in order to cover the two layers. And I did not like the color of green that came out. Maybe a drop of food color would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I thought this was great! I did the cake recipe exactly as follows and I made a sheet cake which I made into a jelly roll with lite cool whip. It was really great. The icing was a little for this cake and the cool whip was perfect. Don't over bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yokota, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
My family absolutely loves this cake. It's not overly sweet and has a wonderful green tea flavor and aroma. I didn't even put the frosting on the first time I made this cake and it was a hit. I do feel that it was important that I used all the proper ingredients called for in the recipe. I ordered powdered green tea direct from Japan, which I feel was an important factor in the success of this cake. My husband has requested this be the cake I make him for his birthday each year. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Suki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I don't know if maybe I didn't make it correctly or what, but this cake was awful. My husband tried to hide that fact but when I said "this cake is gross," he agreed. I hope other people have better experiences with this cake, and no disrespect to the person who submitted the recipe. It could have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States