Green Tea Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was really good the first time I made it, and the second time I substituted buttermilk for the yogurt and it was extra moist. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Really disappointed. The cake doesn't taste even remotely like matcha. When cooked, it is actually a dull brown. Reading the ingredients list, I thought the amount of green tea powder was very small, but all the good reviews persuaded me to try this recipe anyway. I'll stick with my other green tea cake recipe from a cooking blog called "Do What I Like". Really, don't make this recipe if you want a cake that actually tastes like matcha (and is the appropriate colour). Two stars for the texture/crumb: very moist and fluffy. Note: the frosting does have a matcha taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
The cake was refreshing, like having a glass of sweet tea. Green tea powder can be found very inexpensively at your local Asian supermarket, often in the Japanese section. I used the cake flour like specified, and the cake was light similarly to a boxed cake. The cake itself was not too sweet and was nicely complemented by the frosting. I doubled the quantity for the frosting and that was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
i use 1.5x more green tea powder and i love the strong taste. i use 3/4 cup of sugar to the cake, that was good. im not really into sweet cakes. the frosting was way too sweet for me. i use whipping cream instead of cream cheese. afterall, my friends love it, but for me its too sweet and too milky. but i really love the vibrant color and the strong "bitterness" of the green tea. btw, i have some problem as the cake didnt develop well, it is way too dense. and i wouldlike to subsitute the yogurt, if i could coz its too mily for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this cake yesterday for an Asian-themed dinner party, and had rave reviews. The one thing that confused me was when I printed the recipe in the 4x6 print format, the milk quantity didn't print (strange). Luckily, I winged it and added just enough to make the frosting. I used soy milk also, it worked great. Another thing I did was add coconut. Maybe this turns this into a different type of cake, but a half cup (or however much you like) of toasted coconut (bake in 350 degrees until lightly browned) sprinkled on top and refrigerated was excellent. I served with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. Also, I found machta green tea powder at Whole Foods (after a long search). They came in a small box of individual packets that you are supposed to pour in a water bottle. A little pricey (I used two boxes at $7.99/ea), but well worth it as far as I'm concerned for trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very tasty, especially after it rests a day in the fridge. The cake is really moist and has a great texture, though I found the frosting color a bit too green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
YUMMY! i have tried tons of recipes on allrecipes, this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Yummy! I didn't use the frosting but made my own from a box and added the green tea powder to it. The cake came out brown even after I added food coloring but was delicious. Edit: I forgot to add that I only used 1/2 cup of oil and it turned out fine. Probably less fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used this as a cupcake recipe (due to the lack of cake pans) and it turned out very well. The cakes were moist and the icing complimented them nicely. Things to watch out for: It is recommended to use matcha/green tea powder and NOT the milk tea because the color and the flavour will not be as distinct. Also be careful as to the amount of powder you add to the icing. I judged it by eye to keep it a light (minty) green colour because if you add to much it'll end up looking like a Ninja Turtle . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this for a party for the first time yesterday and it was a hit. I didn't have green tea powder so I took the advice of another user and bought Stash Green Chai tea bags, opened each bag, poured the loose tea into a coffee grinder and ground to a fine powder. The results were wonderful and everyone at the party commented on how great the taste was...green tea with a hint of spice and not too sweet. I had to double the frosting, however. I made these into cupcakes so I reduced the baking time to 15 minutes and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States