Green Tea Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
very tasty. I made it for my sister's birthday. I used splenda and fat free cream cheese, and I topped it with berries. My family was raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ameemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Increased the amount of matcha to 3.5 tbsp and thought this was perfect (I wanted a more than subtle taste) - could really taste the green tea without it being overpowering. Regarding the "rubbery" top comment from another reviewer: I used a hand mixer at low to medium speed for all steps and fat-free cream cheese and the texture was absolutely fine. I thought the graham cracker crust worked for this recipe and the raspberries are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
It was good, not too sweet and as said by another reviewer the cake had a subtle matcha flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. I just about died when I saw this recipe. Being the matcha addict that I am, I quadrupled the amount of green tea powder. Like another reviewer, I used a hand mixer on low to avoid a rubbery texture. I also suggest refrigerating for a few hours (as long as you can keep away!) because warm cheesecake is no good. Otherwise, perfect taste, perfect texture and consistency ... the only thing I'm sad about is how much weight I'll be gaining scarfing out on this cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! I'm not even a cheesecake person but i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This came out totally amazing. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I used low fat cream cheese instead of fat free, and I also added 3 tbs of green tea powder (though my green tea powder has been sitting around for over a year, so it's probably not as potent as fresh powder). I like a stronger green tea flavor, but I do think 1 tbs may not be enough for most people. Either way, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Oh man, absolutely delicious. One of the best uses for Matcha (powdered green tea) that I've ever seen. I did everything the recipe called for, mixed everything by hand, and added raspberry filling on top after it cooled. Notes: - Probably needed more than an hour to cool. I was in no hurry so I let it cool for about 4 hours after making it, so I don't know for sure. But it didn't look firm enough after just an hour. - Raspberry and Green Tea combination is delicious! Also prevents any naysayers from turning it down on the green color alone. - Would probably use a different crust next time. Graham cracker texture was wrong and was generally too sweet for the filling. Maybe shortbread like the other reviewer, but will have to experiment. In general, HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Wonderfully delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made a couple changes. The green tea powder at my local store was $8.99. Too rich for my blood, but they had a sweet green tea powder for $4.99. All it is, is green tea powder and sugar. It was over 1/2 cup worth, so I just added regular sugar to fill out the rest of the 3/4 cups total. I also used non-reduced fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h-chan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing! I make it a lot for functions where I want to make a fancy, classy dessert. Instead of pre-packaged graham cracker crust, I usually make it with a shortbread crust. (Can use ground shortbread cookies with butter) And I usually double the green tea for a less-than-subtle green tea flavor (I love matcha). Always comes out tasty. I have also served it with fresh blueberry Coulis, or fresh whipped cream with vanilla. The longer it cools the better. Green tea flavor improves after 12 hours of chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Easy for newbie like me. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ching Teoh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States