Green Tea Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sam
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Oh man, absolutely delicious. One of the best uses for Matcha (powdered green tea) that I've ever seen. I did everything the recipe called for, mixed everything by hand, and added raspberry filling on top after it cooled. Notes: - Probably needed more than an hour to cool. I was in no hurry so I let it cool for about 4 hours after making it, so I don't know for sure. But it didn't look firm enough after just an hour. - Raspberry and Green Tea combination is delicious! Also prevents any naysayers from turning it down on the green color alone. - Would probably use a different crust next time. Graham cracker texture was wrong and was generally too sweet for the filling. Maybe shortbread like the other reviewer, but will have to experiment. In general, HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Wonderfully delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. I just about died when I saw this recipe. Being the matcha addict that I am, I quadrupled the amount of green tea powder. Like another reviewer, I used a hand mixer on low to avoid a rubbery texture. I also suggest refrigerating for a few hours (as long as you can keep away!) because warm cheesecake is no good. Otherwise, perfect taste, perfect texture and consistency ... the only thing I'm sad about is how much weight I'll be gaining scarfing out on this cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This was really easy and has a nice subtle green tea flavor. I like the idea of this but prefer my cheesecake on the drier side. The fat-free cream cheese gives this a rubbery texture. So if I did this again I would just adapt it to my favorite cheesecake recipe. I used splenda, and did not like the after-taste of it. I used a shortbread crust. The recipe suggest chilling for one hour but it needs much more time than that to chill up. Green tea varies by color and strength depending on the quality of it. And the older it is, the weaker it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Increased the amount of matcha to 3.5 tbsp and thought this was perfect (I wanted a more than subtle taste) - could really taste the green tea without it being overpowering. Regarding the "rubbery" top comment from another reviewer: I used a hand mixer at low to medium speed for all steps and fat-free cream cheese and the texture was absolutely fine. I thought the graham cracker crust worked for this recipe and the raspberries are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
It was good, not too sweet and as said by another reviewer the cake had a subtle matcha flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
very tasty. I made it for my sister's birthday. I used splenda and fat free cream cheese, and I topped it with berries. My family was raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ameemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I added 2 .5 teaspoon of green tea powder and about 3/4 cups of low-fat yogurt. It's a lighter softer texture. I used brown sugar in place of white sugar. I also made this recipe into mini-cheesecakes using broken pieces of gingersnaps. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
After it was baked and refrigerated, the top looked rubbery -- it felt that way, too. I was really excited to try this recipe. It's very simple, and that's a good thing :) I agree with using a shortbread crust (the one on this site is really good!). The taste of the filling was kind of off, and the rubbery top functioned as a... "membrane?!" The top "membrane/skin" kind of held the inside filling in, which was... interesting. I did add some raspberries as suggested to mask the strange rubbery look and taste (as I had almost-powder green tea, it was a little bitter and unsmooth). But despite that, I was still grossed out. I really thought this recipe had potential. I want to try it again and get it RIGHT, but I would have to BUY the powder and not attempt to grind up the leaves (as suggested in another recipe). I would try again if I don't mind risking more ingredients, though! Thanks for the recipe, even though I might not use fat free cream cheese as written, because that might be what caused the rubbery top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawbificial

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I am torn between giving this recipe 2 stars or 3 stars. The flavor was alright, but the consistency was horrible. I did follow the recipe exactly and it just did not work out. I doubt that I will attempt this recipe again, but I did love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This came out totally amazing. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I used low fat cream cheese instead of fat free, and I also added 3 tbs of green tea powder (though my green tea powder has been sitting around for over a year, so it's probably not as potent as fresh powder). I like a stronger green tea flavor, but I do think 1 tbs may not be enough for most people. Either way, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States