Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
i love my smoothies and found out about putting kale in them. so i tried this. i didn't quite have 2 cups of kale so used less. my favorite smoothie is banana and OJ frozen concentrate, then plain yogurt and a little milk. here it is with kale! was wonderful. i use the OJ concentrate straight out of the can instead of juice and use less. and, never thought of freezing kale!!! thanks to the reviewer who said that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
wow, this was great. i made it for my 2 year old thinking it would be healthy, but never thinking i would drink it and i ended up loving it as much as my son did. the only thing i did different was i didn't freeze the banana before blending, instead i made popsciles out of it. Great summer time treat and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I really liked this! It's a shame there's so many bad reviews :( I froze my banana and kale. My kale was fresh from the garden though. I included the flax see meal (found in bulk section at WinCo) and the coconut oil (found in health food section of Fred Meyers). I melted the coconut oil so it would blend better with the other ingredients. I also used nonfat milk and Simply Orange 100% orange juice. I just went out and picked a whole bunch more kale to freeze so I can have this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simple and delicious. The first time I made it, it was way too thick. It was more like a meal than a smoothie, and I threw it out pretty quickly. The next time I blended the ingredients one at a time. I first added kale and some orange juice. Next, I added the frozen banana pieces, 2 at a time. This was followed by the flax seed, coconut oil, and finally the milk. I recommend 2-3x the amount of OJ and milk that the recipe requires, otherwise it is just way too thick. I am going to melt the coconut oil next time as another reviewer mentioned. Adding avocado is also interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Midwife is making me consume more greens, so I tried this. Gotta say, can't taste the kale. Yum. Though, the kale was quite chunky. I don't know if that is because my blender sucks or that's just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Not sure if I qualify to rate this, since I changed the recipe... I was really doubtful that greens could actually be worked into a smoothie with tolerable results. I used a past prime peach w/skin, mango, frozen banana, 2 cups chopped kale and enough OJ to make it all blend. I think it's delicious. And I think nearly any fruit combo would work. I'm now a believer in green smoothies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I am a huge fan of smoothies and have found tons of easy variations. I wash and freeze the kale. Once frozen it breaks into such small pieces it blends great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I will definately try this as I have bone cancer that metastisized after breast cancer 8 years ago. Kale is just one of the top foods I am supposed to eat. Like the idea of freezing it as it always spoiled before I could eat the very large bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make a similar version of this every morning. I use frozen banana and 1/4 or 1/2 avacado either fresh or frozen and almond milk instead of orange juice. My husband even likes it and he is picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJKING777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great drink! I left out the milk just for our own family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States