Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
wow, this was great. i made it for my 2 year old thinking it would be healthy, but never thinking i would drink it and i ended up loving it as much as my son did. the only thing i did different was i didn't freeze the banana before blending, instead i made popsciles out of it. Great summer time treat and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Well...it tasted pretty green to me. Maybe I used kale that was too mature and packed the measuring cup too full. I really wanted to like this but it just didn't work for me :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Midwife is making me consume more greens, so I tried this. Gotta say, can't taste the kale. Yum. Though, the kale was quite chunky. I don't know if that is because my blender sucks or that's just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I am a huge fan of smoothies and have found tons of easy variations. I wash and freeze the kale. Once frozen it breaks into such small pieces it blends great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Not bad for kale. Still tastes a bit green. I added extra OJ + ice and re-blended to cut the taste a bit. Wouldn't be a regular thing for me, but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I make this almost every morning for breakfast. I first made it as written, but then I started subbing fruit for what I had in the fridge. Pears work wonderfully, instead of apples. I also add some kale for its healthful benefits. Just don't overdo it; the kale becomes really bitter before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I added a splash extra OJ, a little agave nectar, and about 1/4 cup frozen raspberries, 'cause the first time around was kinda yucky. After I added those my 7 yr old daughter drank it happily - it also helps to put it in a tupperware sippee cup with a lid, so the green color is concealed from kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was another intersting green smoothie , it was not too green tasting. I used green Chard intead of Kale because I didn't have any Kale in the house and omitted the OJ...Will ltry with OJ next time. I added some Rice cream topping for garnish the family like this one as well..great healthy smoothie :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Not sure if I qualify to rate this, since I changed the recipe... I was really doubtful that greens could actually be worked into a smoothie with tolerable results. I used a past prime peach w/skin, mango, frozen banana, 2 cups chopped kale and enough OJ to make it all blend. I think it's delicious. And I think nearly any fruit combo would work. I'm now a believer in green smoothies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
i love my smoothies and found out about putting kale in them. so i tried this. i didn't quite have 2 cups of kale so used less. my favorite smoothie is banana and OJ frozen concentrate, then plain yogurt and a little milk. here it is with kale! was wonderful. i use the OJ concentrate straight out of the can instead of juice and use less. and, never thought of freezing kale!!! thanks to the reviewer who said that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States