Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simple and delicious. The first time I made it, it was way too thick. It was more like a meal than a smoothie, and I threw it out pretty quickly. The next time I blended the ingredients one at a time. I first added kale and some orange juice. Next, I added the frozen banana pieces, 2 at a time. This was followed by the flax seed, coconut oil, and finally the milk. I recommend 2-3x the amount of OJ and milk that the recipe requires, otherwise it is just way too thick. I am going to melt the coconut oil next time as another reviewer mentioned. Adding avocado is also interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I really liked this! It's a shame there's so many bad reviews :( I froze my banana and kale. My kale was fresh from the garden though. I included the flax see meal (found in bulk section at WinCo) and the coconut oil (found in health food section of Fred Meyers). I melted the coconut oil so it would blend better with the other ingredients. I also used nonfat milk and Simply Orange 100% orange juice. I just went out and picked a whole bunch more kale to freeze so I can have this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Maybe the coconut oil has something to do with the taste. I left that out and I used spinach, which I thought would be easier to cover up. Now I'm not so sure. It tasted like lightly sweetened liquid spinach. So even thought it gets two stars for health, I'm not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make a similar version of this every morning. I use frozen banana and 1/4 or 1/2 avacado either fresh or frozen and almond milk instead of orange juice. My husband even likes it and he is picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJKING777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great drink! I left out the milk just for our own family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I will definately try this as I have bone cancer that metastisized after breast cancer 8 years ago. Kale is just one of the top foods I am supposed to eat. Like the idea of freezing it as it always spoiled before I could eat the very large bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
i love my smoothies and found out about putting kale in them. so i tried this. i didn't quite have 2 cups of kale so used less. my favorite smoothie is banana and OJ frozen concentrate, then plain yogurt and a little milk. here it is with kale! was wonderful. i use the OJ concentrate straight out of the can instead of juice and use less. and, never thought of freezing kale!!! thanks to the reviewer who said that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Not sure if I qualify to rate this, since I changed the recipe... I was really doubtful that greens could actually be worked into a smoothie with tolerable results. I used a past prime peach w/skin, mango, frozen banana, 2 cups chopped kale and enough OJ to make it all blend. I think it's delicious. And I think nearly any fruit combo would work. I'm now a believer in green smoothies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was another intersting green smoothie , it was not too green tasting. I used green Chard intead of Kale because I didn't have any Kale in the house and omitted the OJ...Will ltry with OJ next time. I added some Rice cream topping for garnish the family like this one as well..great healthy smoothie :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I added a splash extra OJ, a little agave nectar, and about 1/4 cup frozen raspberries, 'cause the first time around was kinda yucky. After I added those my 7 yr old daughter drank it happily - it also helps to put it in a tupperware sippee cup with a lid, so the green color is concealed from kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States