Green Sauce Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I'm a very experienced cook. I thought this recipe was very blah. It's almost a waste of calories because the 3/4 lb. of cubed cheese doesn't translate into a sumptious, cheesy enchilada. It cooks too hard and runs out of the enchilada. I think a way to improve this recipe would be to increase the amount of green sauce, to reduce the cooking time, or to reduce the cooking heat. I think if I do this again, I will also add some jalapeno pepper into the filling because, as it's right now, it's so non-distinct. The flavoring inside the tortilla is the same as outside, so it all comes out tasting the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was the best enchiladas I have ever had. My fussy children loved it, too. I also made some changes to the recipe: I marinated the chicken in lime juice, chili powder, garlic, salt, pepper, diced green chilis and jalapenos (one small can each), and a bit of tequila for a few hours before cooking. I used shredded mexican jack in each tortilla instead of adding to total mixture and I used 3 cans of green enchilada sauce. I also slow sauteed diced jalapenos and serrano chilis in olive oil and served over the top (taste buds permitting). Thanks Dawn, and all the others who have helped make this a terrific dish. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
WOW!! My family loved these!! Used a little extra enchilada sauce than called for and used shredded mexican three blend cheese! Great toppings include sour cream, lettuce and tomatoes!! THANK YOU DAWN! I love new recipes that liven things up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
These were wonderful with lots of leftovers (and I mean LOTS). I boiled the chicken for several hours in water with green chili's. Then added onions and 1 can of Rotels. Also used a Cheddar/Monteray mix of cheese. It was spunky and even my Texas husband ate heartily. Good recipe.....actually EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
was very good, but was missing something. Bought jalapeno pepper to add in like others suggested, but forgot to add it. My husband chopped it up for the leftovers, and said it was just what it needed. will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
These are good. I like the addition of the rice and corn. I could use less chicken and cheese and make them a little healthier. I didn't have jack cheese so used cheddar. Next time I would simply shred all the cheese though, some of mine did not melt all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Yummy!!! I added more sauce and cheese. I also used Tyson's frozen pre-cooked fajita chicken that comes in a large bag. It was quicker and the fajita taste really added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
These enchiladas are fabulous. I used only 8oz of cheese and the recipe made about 14 delicious enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Excellent starter recipe, I made a few modifications. Definitely use more sauce. thanks, Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Don't alter a thing. Want to impress your dinner guests? Then make these enchiladas. They are the absolute best! I served with Mexican rice, lime chips & salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States