Green Sauce Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
They're alright. Grated cheese, but only eyeballed it. Made 18-20 (in 9x9 & 9x13), with little stuffing leftover. My 2 yo was eating stuffing while I made some. Added beans to the stuffing too, and nearly a whole can (small size) of the green sauce-barely had enough to pour over top. Not as creamy as I wanted, but could probably add cream cheese or cream/chick soup and have more "juiciness". It was pretty good for what I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Good base recipe, but easily modified into a delicious dish. I knew this was going to be a bit plain for our tastes so I added a few things. To the rice, I added a clove of garlic (minced) while sauteeing the rice in the butter. To the enchilada filling, I added a can of diced green chiles, replaced the can of corn with Mexi-Corn, and added a few dollops of sour cream. I also used a shredded mix of Colby and Monterey Jack, as that's what I had on hand. Turned out great. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These were just ok. My husband thought it was lacking in flavor, needs a little tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made it with mexican rice instead of white, used more green sauce, shredded 3 cheese instead of cubes and added black beans. After all that, it came out pretty good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was the best enchiladas I have ever had. My fussy children loved it, too. I also made some changes to the recipe: I marinated the chicken in lime juice, chili powder, garlic, salt, pepper, diced green chilis and jalapenos (one small can each), and a bit of tequila for a few hours before cooking. I used shredded mexican jack in each tortilla instead of adding to total mixture and I used 3 cans of green enchilada sauce. I also slow sauteed diced jalapenos and serrano chilis in olive oil and served over the top (taste buds permitting). Thanks Dawn, and all the others who have helped make this a terrific dish. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was very good and simple.I used a pre-cooked chicken from supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I live with two men and they both have very picky appetites. This was a smash hit and they demanded that it become a regular on our day-to-day menu. I cut up some fresh green chilis and put that in the stuffing as well for a little bit of spice and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and add black beans to the filling. They are always a hit and have turned into a family birthday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB Baby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
i wasn't super impressed. i too felt it was missing something...i followed the recipe to the T. there may be other recipes you would want to try first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
was very good, but was missing something. Bought jalapeno pepper to add in like others suggested, but forgot to add it. My husband chopped it up for the leftovers, and said it was just what it needed. will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States