Green Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The ingredients were right on. The best flavor comes when you slightly blacken the tomatillos & jalapenos under the broiler, then mix all your ingredients. If you don't have shallots, use 1 white onion (slightly blacken this also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Wanted to use up some green tomatoes from the garden so used this recipe. Instead of tomatillos I substituted the green tomatoes. Turned out delicious. Since I seldom have green tomatoes I'll use tomatillos next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I was looking for a green salsa to put on chicken burritos and this salsa was perfect. I had to use canned tomatillos because I couldn't find fresh but it was still delicious and even better the next day! I would recomment adding 1 or 2 teaspoons of kosher salt. A great recipe and easy too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This was wonderful! The flavors were great and my husband and I ate it with tortilla chips in one night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Four stars for the ingredients. White onion is better and you have to add lime juice for that little extra jolt. Tomatillos are best for salsa when they've been roasted, this goes for the garlic, onion, and peppers too. Very east, just lay out on a cookie sheet and put under the broiler until the veges begin to look charred. Turn the veges over and let char on the other side. Remove from broiler and add veges to the food processor and chop. Add lime juice to taste and a little kosher salt too. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This was fresh, tangy, and flavorful. I skipped the shallots, doubled the green chiles, cilantro, and jalapeno, and added 2 finely diced large avocados and a couple Tbs lime juice (for flavor and to keep the avocado from browning). Taking the seeds out of the jalapenos left the salsa without any heat at all, so as a personal preference, next time I'll just leave them in to get a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I love salsa, and this has just the right amount of kick for those who are heat lovers, AND those who are not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This recipe is amazing - I organize and cook for 20-30 people once a week and this has been a favorite. However, it only gets 4 stars because I added avocado to thicken it up - it made a much better chip dip that way. Also, a dash of pepper helped. Thanks for the awesome recipe; will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This salsa recipe is delicious. I used canned tomatillos and I also added chopped avocado to the mixture. My family loved it. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I made this salsa for a St. Patrick's Day party and it was easy and delicious. I didn't need to add any of the jalepeno because it was already hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States