Green Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe is a hit with everybody who tries it....no guessing if its good, just make it!! I used whole berry cranberry sauce instead and its fabulous too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Good but I made it better by adding a few of things. I added a tablespoon of balsamic, another 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic, and a handful of more cranberries. That made the dressing less oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I am definately giving this one 5 stars! I agree with everyone about this dressing. It is so excellent. Even my husband raved about how good the dressing was. He said it really "made" the salad. I took the advice of others and did add a little sweetener to the recipe. I added some sugarfree equal one at a time to test the taste for the sweetness. I used 5 of them since the equal seems to be a bit more sweeter than regular sugar. I also used Garlic flavored red wine vinegar. I thought that this would be overkill but it turned out GREAT! I didn't have regular garlic so I used a bit of garlic powder. All in all it was a wonderful salad. I took it to a holiday party and didn't take any home with me. I will have to make this again just for me! Thanks for a great recipe. I will keep this one in my files for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
less cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faina Shpiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I loved how easy this salad was to prepare- no slicing except for the red onion. The dressing was ready in just seconds and initially tasted great however after sitting for awhile I thought it was REALLY tart. I think next time I will add extra oil and some honey or sugar to cut the tartness but otherwise a delicious and super easy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this for our Thanksgiving feast, and made it exactly as written, then tasted. Besides being far too tart (which, after reading reviews, I was prepared to add sugar, but I gave the written recipe a fighting chance as written), but also, even with such bold, flavorful ingredients, I found it rather "flat" or "lacking". I started the "tweaking" with a tablespoon of sugar and additional pinch of salt. Better, but not there. It just had no depth. So another tablespoon of sugar went in, followed by more dijon and eventually about 3 times the garlic. A volunteer taster agreed that it just seemed really one dimensional, so finally with the addition of 1/2 tsp thyme and three green onions it was really a lovely dressing, but by then, it was not this recipe at all, thus the three stars. This all surprised me because I took that first bite expecting to love it. I just found it lacking, but a nice base for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very good recipe. I will make this good. I made a few changes such as adding two tablespoons of sugard to the dressing. I used pecans instead of almonds and added 1/3 cup dried cranberries. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This salad turned out great. I followed the advice and added white sugar to the vinaigrette because it was really tart without the sugar. Everyone liked it and a few has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
OMG! This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving gathering. Everyone loved it! You definitely need to add the 2 Tbsp. of white sugar to decrease the tartness, but other than that this recipe is spot on in terms of flavor. I used toasted walnuts instead of almonds (personal preference), a mixture of romaine lettuce and spring mix along with the red onion, added some thin sliced Granny Smith apples that I soaked in a bit of lemon juice and water to prevent them from browning, craisins, and feta cheese. That mixture proved to be the right combination of sweet and tart and needless to say it was very pretty! It was also a great way to use up leftover turkey, the next day I diced some of it and put it over top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I love this dressing....I add about 2 tbsp sugar. I like to pickle my onions for about an hour with red wine vin, white vin, alittle sugar and water. I added jicama to salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States