Green Risotto with Fava Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous. I didn't puree any of the fava beans, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Fava beans can be very challenging so when I underestimated the yield on a batch of beans, I did not allow enough for this recipe as I also made a dip with the beans. I ended up omitting the pureed portion and added several in at the end. This was a great simple risotto recipe that could've been even better if I would have gone through with fava bean puree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Risotto is so delicious and with this one you get the vegetables in there too. I used canned lima beans to make it easier. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I've just returned from Italy, where I had the wonderful opportunity to have my fill of fava beans and artichokes, both of which are in season now and plentiful. I lamented that I've never been able to get fava beans at home, but no sooner did I return home did I happily stumble upon them in my market! I was eager to use them in this recipe. Because I cooked the risotto long and slow over 40 minutes and using 5 cups of chicken broth, it turned out beautifully, allowing the rice to release all its starch and resulting in a wonderfully creamy risotto. Unfortunately, while the quality of the finished dish couldn't be beat, it tasted of nothing more than the broth it was cooked in. Therefore, it was only average. As for the fava beans, they were only discernible by sight - there weren't enough of them to really make an impact in taste. Lots of effort for a risotto without distinction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was absolutely divine! Lots of work, but I didn't cut any corners and I'm so glad. Even my husband, who hates anything with butter or cheese loved it. I'm keeping this as my special dinner for when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I had a kilo of fresh fava beans, so basically I quadrupled the quantity of fava (2lbs was a scant cup once shelled, so a 1/2 lb would only be 1/4 cup), but still didn't really taste them. The overall flavor was good, and this would be a great starter for any risotto, and just add whatever ingredients you want instead of the fava beans. This was super creamy, and I think the key was I added the hot broth in ladle fulls, a smaller quantity than I've done at a cup at a time for other risotto recipes. Next time I would follow a comment I read about only removing the second skin from the whole beans for looks and leaving it on for the puree as they tasted fine before I shelled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Yum. I didn't have fava beans, so I substituted 1 can of lima beans (pureed half) and a can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Made this for dinner's side tonight and it was extroidinary. I had to make a couple of changes like more chicken stock and changing the fava beans for butter beans, but it was so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Excellent. We just used a can of lima beans, and added the liquid from the can to the risotto for a bit of added flavor. Great for a main course dinner with salad, and great for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I got fresh fava's from the farmers market and tried this and WOW... it was awesome.Some of the very best recipes do take time and this was worth every minuate.Thanks for a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States