Green Risotto with Fava Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
good, a lot of work to shell beans, used orzo instead of rice came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
it seemed like there was one too many cups of broth when the rice was cooked. when i looked on the back of the rice container it had a recipe that used one less cup of broth confirming what i thought about it. the fava beans could have been omitted since they really did not add much to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
If you grow your own fava beans (we call them Broad Beans here in New Zealand - in case you were interested), pick them when they are smaller and haven't developed the bitter grey outer layer. that way they taste similar to fresh peas and there's no need to worry about pre-boiling and peeling the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellynz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Loved this. Followed recipes instructions. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Got the whole family to try it and everyone including the picky eaters loved it. I did not squeeze the bean out of the skins to save time and it didn't bother anyone. I also added a touch of garlic oil to the beans in the processor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Got the idea from Hell's Kitchen... First time making risotto and this turned out delicious. made exactly as described except with frozen favas. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe is fabulous, a little time consuming but well worth your efforts. My only suggestion to save yourself a little time is to purchase fava beans already blanched and skinless. Otherwise, follow recipe exact. It's perfect & delicious. Next time I will add asparagus or roasted red pepper for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Without the parmesan I think it get 5 stars, but honestly I think the cheese detracts from this otherwise wonderful dish. The first time we made it we LOVED the taste as we were preparing it and it was nearly done. We felt like fools when we realized that the entire skillet was ruined when we mixed in the parm which completely overpowered the dish. Yes, we had a very strong cheese, but still, it didn't seem to go well with the other flavors. Do yourself a favor and add the cheese to a small sample first. Also, have plenty more broth on hand as we found it to be much thirstier than the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Excellent! I was a bit hesitant to try, but I'm happy I did! I used 1/2 cup brown rice instead of risotto because that's what I had on-hand. My brown rice was supposed to be cooked for 35 minutes but I added it to the butter/onion mixture after 20 minutes of cooking. I only added 1.5 cups hot chicken broth. The proportions were perfect and everything tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous. I didn't puree any of the fava beans, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States