Green Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This really was excellent, both in taste as well as presentation. In deference to Hubs' sensitive innards I replaced half the jalapeno with minced green pepper and also cut back a bit on the cilantro, since he's of the camp whose taste buds believe it tastes like soap. Flavorful, but in a supportive way. It doesn't "step on the toes" of the main dish, in this case, "Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Shrimp," recipe also from this site. I can see this as being a conveniently versatile rice dish too, the ideal complement to ANY meat or seafood entree simply by eliminating the cilantro and jalapeno if it doesn't fit. As written, however, it's delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Made 1/2 the recipe as written (used Basmati rice & white wine). Allowed the rice to fry in the oil/onions/jalapeno mixture for a minute or two before adding wine & broth/water (didn't bother to measure salt & pepper). It seemed like the ratio of rice/green ingredients was off (1 bunch of green onions = 1/4lb) but it wasn't! We really liked this, none of the flavors overpowered the other & it was just nice & fresh tasting. The jalapeno & cilantro doesn't mean it needs to be served alongside an ethnic dish - it's that neutral. Also for those afraid of the jalapeno, I scraped as much seeds & pith as I could so I was just left with the flavor of the pepper & none of the heat. Half the recipe easily served 6. Thanks Kimber, I'm really glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I added the juice of one lime and a bit of zest too. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Somehow I am just now seeing the reviews which is odd for me but I am thankful for they might have persuaded me to pass on this. I REALLY REALLY liked this recipe. So much in fact that this will be my go to when serving Mexican food. I even used the leftover with an Asian stir-fry and liked it in that too. Not sure what the others didn't like about this because I found the fresh cilantro, parsley, and green onion tops very fresh tasting and rewarding. 5 stars all the way. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This recipe packs a punch! It is spicy and oh so delicious! It is a great side dish with mexican food and it tastes even better with some melted mozarella cheese on top! I wasn't expecting this recipe to be anything special- but it is going to the top of the cookbook! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very nice. Pleasant change from standard Spanish rice with the red chili flavor. I only added a half of jalapeno because we're gringos. :) But the rice came out fluffy and flavorful. The color and the crunch of fresh cilantro and scallions made it stand out. I served with slices of lime to squeeze over the rice dish. It really added zing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
The flavor of this rice was tasty without being overwhelming. It was great warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Excellent rice as is, but even brighter with a couple of tablespoons of lime juice added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Yummy! We are trying to switch to whole grains, so I made this with brown rice. It took much longer to cook than white rice, so I had to keep adding liquid. The result was a creamy, delicious dish very much like a risotto. I made the recipe exactly as written, but then just kept tasting and adding hot water until the rice was tender. Allow extra time for this recipe if you want to try it with brown rice. The only change I would make would be to reduce the parsley a little. The parsley, grassy flavor seemed a little too strong. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The only ingredient I omitted in this dish was the jalapeno peppers as members of my family don't care for anything spicy. In its' place I used a whole green bell pepper. The prep and cook time was approximate. This turned out much better since everyone enjoyed this side dish. It is a pretty dish as well with the minced green flecks of bell pepper and herbs throughout the rice. The rice is tasty and flavorful with nothing overpowering each other (bell pepper, parsley, onions, cilantro). I thought I would be able to taste the cilantro since it is a stronger herb, however, I liked it in this dish. This is a nice change to plain white rice that we normally eat. The title of this dish fits perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States