Green Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
The flavor of this rice was tasty without being overwhelming. It was great warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This recipe packs a punch! It is spicy and oh so delicious! It is a great side dish with mexican food and it tastes even better with some melted mozarella cheese on top! I wasn't expecting this recipe to be anything special- but it is going to the top of the cookbook! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Somehow didn't turn out as expected. Maybe something was wrong with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
this is a great recipe to mess around with. i made this with substitutions: 2 med poblano peppers, 1/2 sweet onion. added: 1 dried red chili pepper crushed. next time i make this, i will make sure to rinse my rice first. overall though, a yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very nice. Pleasant change from standard Spanish rice with the red chili flavor. I only added a half of jalapeno because we're gringos. :) But the rice came out fluffy and flavorful. The color and the crunch of fresh cilantro and scallions made it stand out. I served with slices of lime to squeeze over the rice dish. It really added zing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was disappointing. I'm Asian so I'm always trying to find recipes to jazz up rice for my husband and I had high hopes for this one. I think when it comes to cilantro, you either love it or you hate it. I didn't put as much in it as the recipe calls for and we still didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Nice change from everyday Spanish rice when having a Mexican dish. I didn't have jalapeños, so used a Poblano pepper and Anaheim pepper....was still very good and maybe not as spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Somehow I am just now seeing the reviews which is odd for me but I am thankful for they might have persuaded me to pass on this. I REALLY REALLY liked this recipe. So much in fact that this will be my go to when serving Mexican food. I even used the leftover with an Asian stir-fry and liked it in that too. Not sure what the others didn't like about this because I found the fresh cilantro, parsley, and green onion tops very fresh tasting and rewarding. 5 stars all the way. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I added the juice of one lime and a bit of zest too. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This really was excellent, both in taste as well as presentation. In deference to Hubs' sensitive innards I replaced half the jalapeno with minced green pepper and also cut back a bit on the cilantro, since he's of the camp whose taste buds believe it tastes like soap. Flavorful, but in a supportive way. It doesn't "step on the toes" of the main dish, in this case, "Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Shrimp," recipe also from this site. I can see this as being a conveniently versatile rice dish too, the ideal complement to ANY meat or seafood entree simply by eliminating the cilantro and jalapeno if it doesn't fit. As written, however, it's delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States