Green Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is an excellent recipe -- I loved the texture and the ease of making the dish. I used all the of the items listed in the recipe (including the condensed milk, which I had never used before). The recipe turned out great -- very solid and delicious. I added plain bread crumbs to the top of the rice before I baked it and it was a nice touch. The bread crumbs slightly browned. I did have to add salt to the dish when it was on my plate. It tasted a bit bland without the extra salt. Overall, easy and delcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I'm giving this recipe four stars i/o five because: 1) it was very bland and 2) really inadequate directions. Re: blandness - this good basic recipe would be much better with pepper, salt, garlic and onion powder. Also, I'll double the cheese next time. Re: directions - I used frozen chopped spinach (which is the standard way chopped spinach comes) so needed to thaw it beforehand, then drain it. Also, the egg should be beaten lightly before adding. The directions just made many assumptions which would torpedo a less-experienced cook. My only change was to use brown i/o white rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tastes like a dish my mom used to make on Sunday evenings - we called it Green Rice or Rice on the Levy. I added some season panko bread crumbs for a little crunch on top. Could also use crushed Ritz-type crackers. Super suggestion from one of my sisters...let spinach drain overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
The broccoli version might be OK but I did not care for this with the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Hmm. This is okay, but I found it bland--and I added 1 cup more cheese, plenty of salt and pepper, minced garlic and minced onion, and finally, parsley. I also topped with seasoned breadcrumbs, but it just seemed blah. Maybe it's just me--it takes a lot to make me like rice, since I've always found it boring, but this just wasn't for me. Bf, however, seemed to enjoy it well enough. I think I like this as a side for dishes with sauce to add to the flavor. I'll compromise with the rating since bf seemed to like it and he's more of a rice fan than me, and the rice directions were spot on and it was ultimately an easy dish to make. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
pretty bland, i added salt and pepper to my liking, i also substituded white rice for brown rice which increased the cooking time and water needed, also replaced the evaporated milk for milk from the fridge...neat idea though, i liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey McNiel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Wow - we loved this one. We did use broccoli instead of spinach, only because Hubby had been patient and eaten a fair amount of spinach of late. So to "give him a break", we used broccoli. We WILL make it again, and we WILL be using spinach! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Did not care for this recipe at all. It tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Nice side dish you can keep plain or season to go along with any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made some substiutions on this - used parmesan because I had no cheddar. Used heavy cream and milk instead of the evap. and seasoned the heck out of it. The flaor was good but it was not creamy at all. I'll try again with cheddar but it was pretty tasty! Also, I had to cook mine 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States