Green Pea Poulourie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I have made this many times now for my family of seven. I have also made it for large groups and no matter how many I make they all get eaten and I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McMinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Serve like falafel, use cumin instead of curry or use both. Eat with plain Greek yogurt and lemon juice as a sauce, serve over greens, tomatoes and cucumbers with hummus and yogurt sauce. Add tomatoes and corn to the paste before frying to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
had to cook them a bit hotter than recommended to keep the from getting too oily. But they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Yes, I did adjust this recipe to fit our diet, but the modifications I made did not in any way change the integrity of the recipe. This recipe is fantastic! I used yellow split peas, which yielded a much more typical looking batter. I used cumin instead of curry powder, and jalapeno instead of serrano, coconut flour instead of flour (and less than half as much, since coconut flour is very absorbent), and baking soda instead of baking powder. I also added a coupled tablespoons of olive oil to help the blender blend up the peas a bit better. I also made mine bigger - dropping the batter in rounded tablespoons instead of teaspoons. These were fabulous, and everyone loved them, from my husband on down to the 17mo twins. We dipped them in salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I can't deep fry, so I shaped these into patties and fried them on the frying pan. I omitted the salt. The pepper and curry add a great flavor! Thanks for this delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved it, but the kids did not. It was pretty oily, so it will be just a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These sounded great, but they turned out pretty bland. I wouldn't suggest baking these to try to be healthy: I baked the first half of the batch and they were really blah, so I fried the rest in coconut oil, and they were much better, but still missing something. (I didn't deep-fry them; instead I flattened them out like patties.) These really need a sauce, like a raita, and I think they could use more salt. We ate them with sour cream. Also, I used spelt flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I have never heard of, let alone make anything, like Poulourie. I was thrilled with these. they were surprisingly light with a nice crisp to them. I've made them twice, and even when I forgot salt the first time, I was excited to make them again. I like them better as a snack than a side or meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Very interesting. Best as a side dish--not as a snack like I fixed them. Not sure what I would fix them with--but worth a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States