Green Pea Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I thought this was and excellent alternative to the usual basil pesto. I omitted the oil completely to save on calories and added a little red pepper flakes and a couple of fresh sun dried tomatoes to the mix. I used it as a sauce base on a piece of flatbread and then added roasted cherry tomatoes and had a delicious pizza! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
What a wonderful way to make pesto! The peas really add body to the sauce without the need for a lot of oil. I love peas and I love pesto; this is a great combination of the two. The recipe is wonderful as listed (perhaps with some salt), but I also look forward to experimenting with it: more lemon, more herbs, a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelerOfTheWays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was exceptional! I looked at others' comments & decided to add about a 1/4 cup of walnuts & another Tbs of olive oil. It was delicious & my normally very picky eater ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Hover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe - I've always made pesto with spinach to boost the nutritional value for my preschooler, but I was low on fresh basil and had no spinach in the house. As luck would have it, I happened to have a bag peas that had been hanging out in the back of the freezer for months. I tried the recipe as written and it was excellent. I decided to tweak it to the "gusto" of my family, and I added a little more olive oil, red pepper flakes and salt. My 3-year old just ate 3 spoonfuls right out of the food processor and he LOVED it! This may become our basic pesto recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this. I've made it several times. It's super easy, healthy and now a staple in our house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Summer Oleksy
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My kids loved this! One nevers eats sauce on pasta ... he had 2 helpings of this! And it's such a quick fix! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I served with grilled bread rubbed with garlic. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was really yummy! Definately needs salt, and I added a couple of splashes of hot sauce to an extra kick. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooShell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I really liked this. It is very hearty with the peas. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!!!! It was absolutely delicious and healthy! I reduced the oil and subbed dried basil for fresh because I didn't have any. Will definitely be making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States