Green Pea Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I thought this was and excellent alternative to the usual basil pesto. I omitted the oil completely to save on calories and added a little red pepper flakes and a couple of fresh sun dried tomatoes to the mix. I used it as a sauce base on a piece of flatbread and then added roasted cherry tomatoes and had a delicious pizza! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good recipe! Was suprised how sweet it was. I added 1/2 c walnuts and 1 scallion. Thanks for sharing - will be my go to recipe for a quick, weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is very, very good and I shared it with vegetarian family and friends. I did add extra lemon juice and more olive oil and also about 1/4 cup of warm water. A wee bit of salt too. Thank you very much for the recipe cookinBe. BJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a great way to use up some of those nearly forgotten frozen peas which are sitting in the back of your freezer. I added extra garlic and olive oil and tossed the pesto with chicken and served it over angel hair pasta. It makes a good spread over french bread too! Oh, I threw in about two tablespoons of pine nuts when I blended the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
What a wonderful way to make pesto! The peas really add body to the sauce without the need for a lot of oil. I love peas and I love pesto; this is a great combination of the two. The recipe is wonderful as listed (perhaps with some salt), but I also look forward to experimenting with it: more lemon, more herbs, a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelerOfTheWays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. I am not a fan of peas, but I definitely enjoyed making and devouring this recipe. I did not have all the ingredients on hand, but the substitutions I made did not affect the taste at all! Basically, I used Canned Sweet Peas, instead of Frozen Peas and Dried Basil instead of fresh and no lemon juice. Still Amazing. Anybody else should definitely go with the true ingredients since I just didn't have the time to get anything. Finally, Thank you for sharing your flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Cruz
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I really liked this. It is very hearty with the peas. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was really yummy! Definately needs salt, and I added a couple of splashes of hot sauce to an extra kick. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooShell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I served with grilled bread rubbed with garlic. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was exceptional! I looked at others' comments & decided to add about a 1/4 cup of walnuts & another Tbs of olive oil. It was delicious & my normally very picky eater ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States