Green Pea Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, that suited my family's tastes and made this a delicous new ways to have peas. First I used two cans of peas instead of one. I omitted water chestnuts and instead of a cracker topping I used durkee french fried onions. I test ran this at Easter with 15 guests to great reviews - this warmed up excellently and is a great make ahead option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is similar to a dish my grandmother made, and it is excellent. Even if you aren't a fan of peas, I bet you will like this! Leseur baby peas are my favorite brand to use for this recipe, and you can use Cream of Mushroom soup in stead of Celery and skip the water chestnuts, and it is still delicious. Whenever I make it, there is never any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very easy to make and quickly devoured. I'll double it next time, as it didn't even come close to 8 servings. I used frozen peas and baked 40 minutes; I think 30 minutes would have been better. Substituted a packaged 4-cheese blend and it was very tasty. I used Ritz crackers; the topping was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious! I substituted cream of onion soup for cream of celery soup and left out the onions. I also used 2 cups of frozen peas instead of the canned peas. The frozen peas hold up better than the canned peas and don't get mushy on you. Great recipe! Will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great recipe! I leave out the chestnuts. Instead of canned peas, I use 15 ounces of frozen petite peas. Also use Ritz crackers for topping. I make this often and sometimes add diced cooked chicken breast. This dish and a salad makes a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We liked this alot! You could easily have put 2 cans of peas in that amount of sauce though and it would fare well. I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I served this casserole at a potluck with a gathering of friends. Everyone liked it. I particularly liked the crunchiness of the water chestnuts, and the topping gave it a nice touch. I used a 15 oz. bag of frozen peas instead of canned. The cracker topping gave it a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
We didn't think much of this. If I were to make it again, I would leave out the water chestnuts - we didn't like the crunchiness in this at all. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
3 year old granddaughter had 5 helpings of this for Christmas! Enough said! Doubled all except soup and crushed crackers to serve family of 14 for Christmas. It reminds me of the inside of a delicious pot pie, not fussy, just warming and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States