Green Pea Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This casserole is absoltely delicious! Evertime I make it I get compliments. The water chestnuts add a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Made this at the last minute for Thanksgiving when I realized we were missing something green. My husband loved it! Much better than the typical "green bean casserole." I didn't have crackers, so I used, of all things, the bran flakes from a box of raisin bran. I also used frozen peas, since thats what we had. I microwaved it (minus the topping) for 5 minutes then put it in the oven (with the topping) for about 10 minutes. Not bad for deciding to cook a veggie right when we took the turkey out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I took this to a church dinner, and NO ONE cared for it. It was runny and flavorless in my opinion. And the cheese topping just did not fit with the dish, I am not sure why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I served this casserole at a potluck with a gathering of friends. Everyone liked it. I particularly liked the crunchiness of the water chestnuts, and the topping gave it a nice touch. I used a 15 oz. bag of frozen peas instead of canned. The cracker topping gave it a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This dish was a nice side dish. I did not have chestnuts, so I used carrot. I also used frozen peas instead of canned, it has much fresher taste. The best part is I did not have buttery crackers, so I used stove top turkey stuffing for the top. It worked out just fine and gave a richer flavor. I know I would also love the buttery cracker as well. This was a fast, easy quick, healthy and good side dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This pea casserole is soo easy and Sooo delicious! I wowed my boyfriend's family with it and it was my first time to make it. So delicious I'm making it again for the second time this weekend. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
At the time of making this recipe I completely forgot about the water chestnuts so I left them out. My husband absolutely loved this casserole. I made it for a family gathering without the water chestnuts again and everyone raved about it. I give this a 5 star rating without the water chestnuts only because I've never used them and fear it may mess it up... Thanks for this simple and easy recipe that everyone seems to LOVE! Just for the record, I did have to double the recipe to take to the family gathering as it would not be enough if I had not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great recipe! I leave out the chestnuts. Instead of canned peas, I use 15 ounces of frozen petite peas. Also use Ritz crackers for topping. I make this often and sometimes add diced cooked chicken breast. This dish and a salad makes a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
We didn't think much of this. If I were to make it again, I would leave out the water chestnuts - we didn't like the crunchiness in this at all. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States