Green Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I changed it quite bit, but it came out so delicious, I thought I'd share. Used a 16 oz sour cream, and about 8 ounces of activa yogurt. Chopped the green onions in a food processor, so they were very fine. Added a couple teaspoons of salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and just a hint of dill, maybe 1/2 teaspoon. Wonderful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have made this several times, and it always goes very quickly. I have always prepared it as the recipe states, and people love it. It gets quite a bit better a couple days after making it, because the onion taste gets stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good and very easy. I used garlic salt instead of regular salt for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I completely changed this because I didn't have cream cheese and it came out great! I had 1 bunch of green onions that I chopped up in my food processor and I added 2 cups of sour cream and 2 packages of real bacon bits. Excellent dip so thanks for the idea with the base recipe! I'll try it your way next time... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Wonderful dip!! I made this exactly as stated in the recipe except I used garlic salt instead of regular salt to suit our taste as a previous reviewer had suggested. Added just a splash more milk as the recipe had mentioned to get the consistency desired. Tasted great right out of the bowl, but I can't wait to taste it tomorrow after it has sat in the fridge overnight! To cut down on prep time I chopped the green onions in my food processor and used a hand mixer to beat the cream cheese and milk together, then beat in the green onions and garlic salt. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Awesome! I added fresh dill and whirled it all in the food processor. No salt needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
My family has been making green onion dip for as long as I've been alive. May I suggest, reduce the green onions by a bunch and add 3-4 tbs pace/salsa and also I love to add a few squirts of Sirarcha. This recipe is a hit, even for onion haters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
The flavor to this dip is OK. I make a dip that is similar to this but adds flavor and presentation. Add real bacon bits along with the green onions to the mix instead of salt. Once the dip is chilled you can roll it in chopped pecans to make a cheese log. It's delicious when you dip in Wheat Thins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States