Green Onion Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by phllyfn2
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
i have made this so many times that i felt compelled to leave a review. while i thought it was okay the way it was written, i am sorry but i had to tweak it a bit. i usually double the green onions and garlic for an extra kick. instead of mayo i use a bar of softened cream cheese along with the sour cream (and since i double the other stuff, low fat sc/cc can be used and nobody will realize.) with the cream cheese it gets a firmer consistency than the mayo which is what i like. overall i am still happy for finding this recipe, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Big hit at my Superbowl party once everyone got over the fact that it was a green-colored dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
SO GOOD! I slightly altered this recipe since here in Spain we haven't got sour cream, so i substituted plain yogurt. Then to suit my own tastes I put half cup mayo and half cup cream cheese. If you use yogurt BEWARE! If you blend all the ingredients together you will get a soupy mess, so the trick is to chop the onion and garlic very finely (pref. in a blender) and then stir that into the cream cheese and mayo mix. Last but not least, fold in the yogurt. I also added a little garlic salt for some extra kick and the end result was DIVINE if you are an onion lover. My version is definitely not kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Wow! This is addicting. Everyone who tried it loved it. Great with crackers, chips and veggies. I would even try this as a spread for a sandwich. It's that good. And a great way to use items from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great recipe! I used to buy McCormick's Spring Onion dip which our family loved. They discontinued it....been looking for a recipe for Green Onion Dip for a while and here it is! Too many French Onion dips which, to me, are too strong and beefy. Like the lighter taste of green onion and this recipe is in my box now! Thanks, Penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
If you enjoy onions as much as I do, this dip is definitely for you! Thanks Penny. Great dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very tasty and easy dip. I followed the recipe except I only had cilantro instead of parsley and I just chopped and mixed the ingredients instead of processing them. The only problem is, it was so good I ate too much of it and felt alttle guilty afterwards! I might try with lower fat sour cream/mayonaise next time just to keep the calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it was really good. I will probably make it again with a couple of tweaks next time. One, I used a large clove of garlic and my husband and I agreed that it was too much garlic, so next time I'll use less. Also, I agree with other reviewers re doubling the green onions; I'll do that next time. Last comment, I really liked the consistency of the dip with the mayo/sour cream mixture as opposed to adding cream cheese. It was just right for not breaking chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This sounded great because I love onions but it turned out pretty bland. It could be because I used fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
This was very easy to make and. while it got rave reviews from party guests, I thought it was just okay. However, our guests just about licked the bowl clean, so I guess it's just me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States