Green Onion Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it was really good. I will probably make it again with a couple of tweaks next time. One, I used a large clove of garlic and my husband and I agreed that it was too much garlic, so next time I'll use less. Also, I agree with other reviewers re doubling the green onions; I'll do that next time. Last comment, I really liked the consistency of the dip with the mayo/sour cream mixture as opposed to adding cream cheese. It was just right for not breaking chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Delicious! Thank you - used greek yogurt and light mayonnaise and 2 cloves of garlic and a dash of tabasco...yummy with veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
used on garlic crackers, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
good base recipe. easy to modify to individual taste. I too added extra onion and garlic. Also salt and pepper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is pretty good. I used 5% fat cream cheese rather than mayo to cut calories, and used dried parsley and dried chives. It was pretty bland until I added 1 tsp. salt. That brought out all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This dip was so-so for me. I used a half block of cream cheese and a half cup of mayo right off the bat because I don't care for an overpowering mayo taste. Even with that change I thought the mayo took over the whole flavor, so I added additional sour cream and onions. I also tweaked with a little ranch dressing and garlic salt. I will say that it was better after it sat overnight. I didn't hate it, but most likely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This had a really good flavor, but it was a little thin. I like my dip a little thicker. But I will try again and make some adjustments. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I have made this twice now. The only drawback is that it gets a little too thin being processed. It has gotten rave reviews though both times and I have gotten recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phllyfn2
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
i have made this so many times that i felt compelled to leave a review. while i thought it was okay the way it was written, i am sorry but i had to tweak it a bit. i usually double the green onions and garlic for an extra kick. instead of mayo i use a bar of softened cream cheese along with the sour cream (and since i double the other stuff, low fat sc/cc can be used and nobody will realize.) with the cream cheese it gets a firmer consistency than the mayo which is what i like. overall i am still happy for finding this recipe, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was a big hit with my Bible study group. It has a nice onion flavor while still light and "herby", very fresh-tasting. Also a very pleasant pale green color. I used 1-1/2 tsp dried parsley instead of the fresh, as well as yellow mustard instead of dijon, and it was still lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Rotini with Charred Green Onion Pesto

Rotini pasta with cranberries and charred green onion and toasted cashew pesto.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States