Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Delicious and chewy, the only change I make is to use toasted sesame oil instead of plain vegetable oil and I sometimes sprinkle actual sesame seeds along with the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Wow! I read the reviews, so I added 1 tsp onion powder, ~1/8 tsp pepper and 2 tsp white sugar. I brushed with sesame oil. We diced the green onions fairly fine. We did the cigar roll, then rolled in a cinnamon bun type shape, then rolled into a flat pancake (quite thin actually - made them light brown and crispy around the edges). We only had canola oil...next time I may try cooking them in peanut oil. Unreall!!! This recipe made me decide to purchase the Pro version...lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
After reading the reviews, I decided to use Sesame Seed oil to brush each circle, and I thought I was generous with the Kosher salt and pepper that I used. However, I thought they were still bland. I wasn’t crazy about them, but my husband had several.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Outstanding! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Look just like green onion cakes but need more spices and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Best recipe I've used so far to get the dough to the right consistency! I brushed sesame oil on the top of the dough before sprinkling onions and salt/pepper. The key is to make sure you rest the dough. Will definitely keep this recipe for repeated use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. A few notes... * You will need 2 bunches of green onions unless yours are very large * No need to let the dough rest. really, trust me. * For more flavour, use sesame oil both in cooking and in the dough, or half and half with vegetable oil. * LESS IS MORE WHEN IT COMES TO OIL! Add 2 or 3 drops to the pan before each batch of cakes you fry, not all at once in the beginning. We're not deep frying them, after all. * Use sea salt. * Roll the dough out long, roll like a cigar, coil like a snake, then roll flat. Thinner is better. * Eat them hot. (drools) * Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These were really good. I halved the recipe and used garlic salt with parsley instead of salt and pepper. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed sweet hot chili sauce and soy sauce which was good for dipping the cakes and my leftover beef kabobs in. DH's first reaction was What the heck is that? but then he wolfed them down. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Definiely try these - like Natalie's which we love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was not worth the effort at all. so hard to roll. I don`t even know how to roll something from a circle cigar style. I am just going to buy some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States